[]
[]
Click here if you would like to reset your password (PIN). If you do not know your password please visit a local branch to reset it or contact a librarian for help.

The Secret Life of Bees

Kidd, Sue Monk (Book - 2002 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Secret Life of Bees


Item Details

Sue Monk Kidd's first novel The Secret Life of Bees , a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, and a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick   Fans of The Help will love Sue Monk Kidd's Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964,  The Secret Life of Bees  will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's The Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt , and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come. .
Authors: Kidd, Sue Monk
Title: The secret life of bees
Publisher: New York :, Viking,, c2002
Characteristics: xii, 301 p. ;,23 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Sue Monk Kidd
ISBN: 0670032379
0670894605
Branch Call Number: FICTION KIDD
More » MARC Display»

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

"For ten years, motherless Lily Owens has lived alone with her mean-spirited father on his rural South Carolina peach farm. On Lily's 14th birthday, which occurs in the summer of 1964, days after the Civil Rights Act is passed, Lily and Rosaleen, her African-American stand-in mother, walk into town, where Rosaleen plans to register to vote. An altercation with three racists lands Lily and Rosaleen in the back of a police car. They then journey to Tiburon, South Carolina where three African-American beekeeping sisters, who have a connection to Lily's mother, take them in." Fiction A to Z March 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/7b91ded4-ca5a-4608-8a16-ef2289b1f6ae?postId=f9c8c515-1dd1-45e1-a5c7-70f56e57d920

The Most Wonderfull Book I Have Benn Ever Readed...Really This Book Is Awesome,It Made Me Fly On The SKy....Lol...

I may or may not want to read books written before this one. This is her first novel and books before that were spiritual memoirs. Review the Wikipedia article. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sue_Monk_Kidd

Report This Jan 29, 2014
  • JP13 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I read this book when I was in High School, I thought it was great! I checked-out the Spanish version for my parents and they are enjoying this book as well.

Report This Dec 04, 2013
  • DeltaQueen50 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

I was a little sceptical about this book, fearing it would be overly sentimental but both the story and the writing won me over. That the book is written in a strong authentic southern voice made the characters come alive and the story seamless. There does seem to be a running theme in many books by southern authors these days of white girls learning life lessons while getting love and security from a black woman but even though the plot was familiar, I enjoyed this particular book and would recommend The Secret Life of Bees to anyone who enjoys this type of story.

Report This Jun 03, 2013
  • AmandaVollmershausen rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

The best word I can find to describe this book is well-rounded. It's good for all ages, walks of life and genders. The themes are very well presented, it reads easily, it's funny, relateable, and the ending is satisfying. The subject is also very original, and I was glad to learn more about beekeeping! All in all, excellent book, I highly recommend it.

Report This Jun 01, 2013
  • googleymonster rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I read this book when I was ten or eleven and a young girl myself, and I loved it. It was the first Adult book I had ever read, and the first book I had ever cried through (the only book I have ever cried through to date). It's extremely emotional and has very real characters. Still one of my favorite novels :) <3 #BookLover

Report This Apr 24, 2013
  • KRockstar10 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

As good as the writing is and as much as I liked the story, if you stand at the beginning of this book you can see all the way until the end. There wasn't a single thing that surprised me, or made me think of something a new way, or challenged me as a reader. A situation is set up and falls into place exactly as you think it will, every time. Now, that's certainly not a bad thing. Predictability has a place in literature. This would be a fantastic book to take on a vacation or even to the beach. It's a quick, heartwarming story that doesn't require you to think too hard.

Report This Mar 27, 2013
  • cfugard rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Absolutely loved this book!

I absolutely love this book - so touching

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

blue_gazelle_42 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Report This Dec 24, 2012
  • krystalamanda16 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

krystalamanda16 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

The Secret Life of Bees

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.