[]
[]

The Cold Dish

Johnson, Craig (Book - 2005)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Cold Dish
Print

Item Details

Two years earlier, four high school boys were given suspended sentences for raping a Cheyenne girl. Now, two of the boys have been killed, and only Sheriff Walt Longmire can keep the other two safe.
Authors: Johnson, Craig, 1961-
Title: The cold dish
Publisher: New York : Penguin, 2005
Characteristics: 354, 21, 11 pages ;,24 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Craig Johnson
Notes: "The first novel in the Walt Longmire mystery series"--Front cover
Some copies may include a reader's guide
Includes excerpt from "Death without company" and reader's guide
Summary: Two years earlier, four high school boys were given suspended sentences for raping a Cheyenne girl. Now, two of the boys have been killed, and only Sheriff Walt Longmire can keep the other two safe.
ISBN: 0143036424
9780143036425
9780143123170
0143123173
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY JOHNSON
Subject Headings: Absaroka Range (Mont. and Wyo.) Fiction Longmire, Walt (Fictitious character) Fiction Sheriffs Fiction Wyoming Fiction
Genre/Form: Mystery fiction
Topical Term: Longmire, Walt (Fictitious character)
Sheriffs
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

A Tony Hillerman read-alike; although the sheriff isn't Native American, his best friend is from the Cheyenne tribe and much of the plot involves the reservation.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

I love all the Longmire books and was a fan of them before the TV show. I especially love the audio versions. I wrote a fan email to Craig Johnson and he graciously replied. I highly reccommend the entire series.

Jun 12, 2013
  • Cdnbookworm rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

I heard an interview with this author on CBC a few weeks ago and became intrigued. I decided to start with the first book in the series, which is this one. The setting is Wyoming, and Walt Longmire is the local sheriff. Walt is a Vietnam vet, in his fifties, a widower with a daughter who has moved away. He is a bit stuck in his grief since his wife died two years ago. His friends are trying to get him to move on, to finish the house his wife and him were building, and to maybe start a new relationship.
When he is notified of a man killed out in a field he sends his deputy, but the case looks like it might be linked to a case a while back where four young white men convinced a mentally handicapped young native woman to come with them and then sexually abused her. The dead man is one of the four men.
As the case progresses, Walt must depend on his friend Henry, and Henry must depend on Walt. The two of them fight to find the truth, against nature, against deceit, and with the help of the ancients. There is an emphasis on the type of gun used to commit the crime, and one gun like this comes into Walt's possession, the Cheyenne Death Rifle, with it's own story and interesting history. There are lots of interesting characters here, including Walt's deputy a young woman previously working for the Philadelphia police. Definitely a series I'd like to read more of.

I enjoyed all of Craig Johnson books and hopes he continues to add to Walt Longmire series.

Aug 10, 2012
  • Jbooks rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Well, Johnson's Cold Dish makes me want to read the whole series of Longmire...what more could an author want?

Jun 19, 2012
  • librarygirl92 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

For fans of James Lee Burke, Steve Hamilton and Robert B Parker. Great characters, intriguing setting and a top notch mystery.

I was looking up some information on the author and I noticed that A&E has turned the series into a television show. Longmire started running in June 2012 on Sunday evenings.

Oct 31, 2011
  • DesPlainesReaders rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

A quality police procedural filled with pathos, memorable characters, and wit, it's more than enough to pack a solid punch through whatever bland fiction funk you've been trying to escape from. This perfect blend of the mystery and western genres combines a well-developed plot and fast action with pinpoint description of the devastatingly beautiful mountain scenery of northern Wyoming. - WeareSpartacus/notTom

Jul 02, 2011
  • olson_ethan rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Craig Johnson brings a lot of his personal experience as a law enforcement officer and a writer to bear in his excellent debut.

Picked it up expecting Western trash, and was pleasantly surprised to find witty dialogue, engaging characters, and a fun mystery narrative.

A good start to a great series, not to be missed by fans of mysteries, westerns, both, or niether. The book will constantly surprise you and challenge your expectations going in to a Western.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

Nov 11, 2013
  • Delta rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Longmire: Trailer - A Cold Dish

Take a peek inside Absaroka County, the world of Walt Longmire. All-new drama series "Longmire" is a contemporary crime thriller based on the mystery novels of the same name by best-selling author Craig Johnson.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app07 Version Arkelstorp Last updated 2014/10/23 09:41