[]
[]

Unseen

Jungstedt, Mari (Book - 2006 )
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
Unseen
Print

Item Details

Swedish crime at its best---dark, atmospheric, and chilling nbsp; The island of Gotland is in the middle of a busy tourist season and getting ready for Midsummer, the 4th of July of Swedish holidays, when a young woman and her dog are found brutally murdered. The dog has been beheaded and is missing a paw; the woman is naked, covered in gruesome axe wounds, and her panties have been stuffed in her mouth. nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; What looks like a crime committed bynbsp;the victim'snbsp;jealous husband keeps the local police force on their toes. Then a second victim is found. A serial killer terrorizes tourists and locals alike, and Inspector Anders Knutas has to face additional pressure from the media and local politicians who are worried about bad PR for the island. In his quest for the murderer, he is aided by Johan Berg, an intrepid young journalist from Stockholm who has been sent to cover the incidents and who gets involved with Emma,nbsp;one of the first victim's close friends. Three women die before Knutas and Berg, each approaching the case in their own way, finally close in on the killer, who has always, until now, been the one unseen by everybody. Jungstedt has written an atmospheric and exciting first mystery in clear, unadorned prose,nbsp;in the tradition of Henning Mankell, Håkan Nesser, and Karin Fossum. nbsp;
Authors: Jungstedt, Mari, 1962-
Uniform Title: Den du inte ser. English
Title: Unseen
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Minotaur, 2006
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: 246 p. :,map ;,22 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Mari Jungstedt ; translated from the Swedish by Tiina Nunnally
Additional Contributors: Nunnally, Tiina - 1952-
ISBN: 0312351577
9780312351571
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY JUNGSTEDT
Subject Headings: Swedish fiction Translations into English
Genre/Form: Mystery fiction
Topical Term: Swedish fiction
LCCN: 2006005453
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

First in the Detective Superintendant Anders Knutas mystery series, set on the Swedish island of Gotland.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app02 Version sidamo (sidamo) Last updated 2014/09/17 15:16