[]
[]

Harlot's Ghost

A Novel
Mailer, Norman (Book - 2007 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Harlot's Ghost
Print

Item Details

With unprecedented scope and consummate skill, Norman Mailer unfolds a rich and riveting epic of an American spy. Harry Hubbard is the son and godson of CIA legends. His journey to learn the secrets of his society--and his own past--takes him through the Bay of Pigs, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and the "momentous catastrophe" of the Kennedy assassination. All the while, Hubbard is haunted by women who were loved by both his godfather and President Kennedy. Featuring a tapestry of unforgettable characters both real and imagined, Harlot's Ghost is a panoramic achievement in the tradition of Tolstoy, Melville, and Balzac, a triumph of Mailer's literary prowess. Praise for Harlot's Ghost "[Norman Mailer is] the right man to exalt the history of the CIA into something better than history." --Anthony Burgess, The Washington Post Book World "Elegantly written and filled with almost electric tension . . . When I returned from the world of Harlot's Ghost to the present I wished to be enveloped again by Mailer's imagination." --Robert Wilson, USA Today "Immense, fascinating, and in large part brilliant." --Salman Rushdie, The Independent on Sunday "A towering creation . . . a fiction as real and as possible as actual history." -- The New York Times Praise for Norman Mailer "[Norman Mailer] loomed over American letters longer and larger than any other writer of his generation." -- The New York Times "A writer of the greatest and most reckless talent." -- The New Yorker "Mailer is indispensable, an American treasure." -- The Washington Post "A devastatingly alive and original creative mind." -- Life "Mailer is fierce, courageous, and reckless and nearly everything he writes has sections of headlong brilliance." -- The New York Review of Books "The largest mind and imagination [in modern] American literature . . . Unlike just about every American writer since Henry James, Mailer has managed to grow and become richer in wisdom with each new book." -- Chicago Tribune "Mailer is a master of his craft. His language carries you through the story like a leaf on a stream." -- The Cincinnati Post
Authors: Mailer, Norman
Title: Harlot's ghost
a novel
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, 2007
Characteristics: 1154 p. ;,21 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Norman Mailer
Notes: Originally published: Random House, 1992
ISBN: 9780345379658
0345379659
Branch Call Number: FICTION MAILER
Bibliography: Includes bibliographical references
Subject Headings: Cold War Fiction United States. Central Intelligence Agency
Topical Term: Cold War
LCCN: 92090052
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

Harlot's Ghost, Mailer's last novel, has a reputation as a rollercoaster read. For people who like big, meaty novels about spies.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

Harry Hubbard joins the CIA in 1950's and this novel follows his career from Berlin to the Bay of Pigs and the Kennedy assassination.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app07 Version sidamo (sidamo) Last updated 2014/09/17 15:16