[]
[]

The Sharper your Knife, the Less You Cry

Love, Laughter, and Tears at the World's Most Famous Cooking School

Flinn, Kathleen

(Book - 2007)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Sharper your Knife, the Less You Cry
Print
A delightful true story of food, Paris, and the fulfillment of a lifelong dream In 2003, Kathleen Flinn, a thirty-six-year-old American living and working in London, returned from vacation to find that her corporate job had been eliminated. Ignoring her mother's advice that she get another job immediately or "never get hired anywhere ever again," Flinn instead cleared out her savings and moved to Paris to pursue a dream-a diploma from the famed Le Cordon Bleu cooking school. The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry is the touching and remarkably funny account of Flinn's transformation as she moves through the school's intense program and falls deeply in love along the way. Flinn interweaves more than two dozen recipes with a unique look inside Le Cordon Bleu amid battles with demanding chefs, competitive classmates, and her "wretchedly inadequate" French. Flinn offers a vibrant portrait of Paris, one in which the sights and sounds of the city's street markets and purveyors come alive in rich detail. The ultimate wish fulfillment book, her story is a true testament to pursuing a dream. Fans of Julie & Julia, Almost French , and Eat, Pray, Love will be amused, inspired, and richly rewarded by this seductive tale of romance, Paris, and French food.
Publisher: New York : Viking, 2007
ISBN: 9780670018222
Branch Call Number: B-FL6457s 2007
Characteristics: xii, 285 p. ;,24 cm
Additional Contributors: Cordon bleu (School : Paris, France)

Opinion

From Library Staff

2 dozen recipies and an unique look inside the famous Le Cordon Bleu Cooking school in Paris.

A memoir about one woman's pursuit of her passion to cook.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Mar 16, 2014
  • ser_library rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

another blog turned into a book that could have used more editing

Feb 16, 2012
  • LaimaA rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Kathleen Flinn's memoirs about her time at Le Cordon Bleu is an engrossing read. Her writing is engaging and her descriptions of the food she learned to cook and of the people who shared her Parisian adventures were equally tantalizing.

Jan 31, 2012
  • ksoles rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

In this charming and pleasant book, Kathleen Flinn does a marvelous job of evoking Paris in all its glory and uniqueness. Furthermore, she captures the excitement, fear and wonderment of attending Le Cordon Bleu while comically describing the quirks and antics of her chef professors. When not attending classes, Flinn takes the reader through her search for living quarters, her outings with visiting friends and her quest to improve her modest French.

The 28 small chapters do become repetitive, however, mostly because each contains at least one forced metaphor: "timing is important in cooking just like it is in relationships. If you try to take the cake out of the oven -- or commit to your sweetheart forever -- too soon, you end up with a sorry mess." If she lost the prosaism, Flinn would become a truly excellent and intriguing writer.

Jan 06, 2012
  • 21221018293347 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I love Kathleen Flinn's style of writing, it is simple, straight forward and engaging. This is the story of her time at the Cordon Bleu cooking school in Paris, after losing a high powered executive position. I also recommend her second book, Kitchen Counter Cooking, which is funny and well written, reading like a novel, even though it is non-fiction.

Nov 21, 2011
  • mogie rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

The introduction made me think that I was going to hate this book because of the author. I didn't. It took me a bit to read. Didn't hold my attention. Not a stand out read.

May 06, 2011
  • itstartswithano rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A really satisfying read!

Jul 02, 2010
  • Queen_Bee rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

A reasonably enjoyable tale of woman's journey of self discovery and the gruelling world of the Cordon Bleu cooking school in Paris... with recipes.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app05 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52