[]
[]

Chaos

Making A New Science

Gleick, James

(Book - 2008)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Chaos
Print
The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory National bestseller More than a million copies sold A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz's discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum's calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot's concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick's engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos ,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.
Publisher: New York, N.Y. : Penguin Books, c2008
Edition: 20th anniversary ed
ISBN: 0143113453
9780143113454
Branch Call Number: 003.857 G556c 2008
Characteristics: xiii, 360 p. :,ill. (some col.) ;,24 cm

Opinion

Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app02 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/23 12:28