[]
[]

The Secret Life of Bees

Kidd, Sue Monk (Book - 2002)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
The Secret Life of Bees
 Add a Comment  Add Tags

Print

Item Details

Sue Monk Kidd's first novel The Secret Life of Bees , a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, and a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick Fans of The Help will love Sue Monk Kidd's Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's The Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt , and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.
Authors: Kidd, Sue Monk
Title: The secret life of bees
Publisher: New York : Viking, c2002
Characteristics: xii, 301 p. ;,23 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Sue Monk Kidd
ISBN: 0670894605
0670032379
Branch Call Number: FICTION KIDD
Subject Headings: South Carolina Fiction Race relations Fiction Maternal deprivation Fiction Beekeepers Fiction Sisters Fiction Teenage girls Fiction African American women Fiction
Genre/Form: Bildungsromans
Topical Term: Race relations
Maternal deprivation
Beekeepers
Sisters
Teenage girls
African American women
LCCN: 2001026310
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

Fourteen-year-old Lily Owens lost her beloved mother when she was only four--under tragic circumstances clouded by time and secrecy. She later found a fiercely protective "stand-in," her abusive father's outspoken housekeeper, Rosaleen. Ignoring differences in age and color--and the fac... Read More »

Lily Owens longs to learn the truth about her mother, so when her black caretaker Rosaleen insults three of the town's fiercest racists, they escape to Tiburon, South Carolina, a place that holds the key to her mother's past. This is the story of a young girl's search for truth and her courage to... Read More »


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Sep 04, 2014
  • Sarah1984 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

6/6 - I enjoyed this, but can't really give any specific reasons for that enjoyment. It was a mostly sweet story of a 14-year-old girl who never felt like she fit in anywhere, until she ran away from home and found herself on the doorstep of three offbeat sisters. I felt the need for physical violence while reading T. Ray's scenes - I hate reading about domestic abuse. I liked all the information about bees and beekeeping and the epigraphs at the start of each chapter. Reading The Secret Life of Bees gave me a similar feeling to reading The Help - racism, intolerance, inequality, and a single Caucasian girl who is colour blind and doesn't feel any of those things.

This remarkable debut novel has stolen the hearts of readers with its strong voice and its exploration of life’s wounds. Set in South Carolina in 1964, the year of the Civil Rights Act and intensifying racial unrest, it tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily and her stand-in mother are forced to escape to a town that holds the secret to her mother’s past, they are taken into an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey and a powerful Black Madonna who presides over their household.

Jul 31, 2014
  • Mo18_0 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This is the second time I read this book, it is such a nice book. I've seen the movie also but I prefer the book over the movie because it has more details.

Jul 11, 2014
  • Zoomerofall rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Beautiful book! It made me want to live with the sisters.

Jun 14, 2014
  • TiaunaMass rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This book was truly inspirational and May's death was the saddest part in the entire book it still brings tears to my eyes to know she was such a loving character and loved making others happy. I felt awful because she couldn't take all the pain and suffering in the world. It was almost as if she could feel others peoples pain, in her heart.

Jun 05, 2014
  • Whetto rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A really good book, with a good message and wonderfully written. I am glad I read this book.

"For ten years, motherless Lily Owens has lived alone with her mean-spirited father on his rural South Carolina peach farm. On Lily's 14th birthday, which occurs in the summer of 1964, days after the Civil Rights Act is passed, Lily and Rosaleen, her African-American stand-in mother, walk into town, where Rosaleen plans to register to vote. An altercation with three racists lands Lily and Rosaleen in the back of a police car. They then journey to Tiburon, South Carolina where three African-American beekeeping sisters, who have a connection to Lily's mother, take them in." Fiction A to Z March 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/7b91ded4-ca5a-4608-8a16-ef2289b1f6ae?postId=f9c8c515-1dd1-45e1-a5c7-70f56e57d920

The Most Wonderfull Book I Have Benn Ever Readed...Really This Book Is Awesome,It Made Me Fly On The SKy....Lol...

I may or may not want to read books written before this one. This is her first novel and books before that were spiritual memoirs. Review the Wikipedia article.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sue_Monk_Kidd

Jan 29, 2014
  • JP13 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I read this book when I was in High School, I thought it was great! I checked-out the Spanish version for my parents and they are enjoying this book as well.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

Sep 05, 2014
  • Sarah1984 rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Sarah1984 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Jun 14, 2014
  • TiaunaMass rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

TiaunaMass thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

blue_gazelle_42 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Dec 24, 2012
  • krystalamanda16 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

krystalamanda16 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

Jul 10, 2014
  • TiaunaMass rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Violence: Fighting scene

Jul 10, 2014
  • TiaunaMass rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Coarse Language: the N word that's about it.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

Jun 05, 2014
  • Whetto rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

The Secret Life of Bees Movie Trailer, 2009

"Starring Queen Latifah and Dakota Fanning, The Secret Life of Bees is the moving tale of Lily Owens, a 14 year-old girl who is haunted by the memory of her late mother. To escape her lonely life and troubled relationship with her father, Lily flees with Rosaleen, her caregiver and only friend, to a South Carolina town that holds the secret to her mother's past. Taken in by the intelligent and independent Boatwright sisters, Lily finds solace in their mesmerizing world of beekeeping, honey and the Black Madonna. Also starring Academny Award winner Jennifer Hudson, Alicia Keys, & Paul Bettany"

The Secret Life of Bees

MCL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app05 Version Borgsjo Last updated 2014/10/29 13:43