[]
[]

Zeno's Conscience

A Novel

Svevo, Italo

(Book - 2003)
Zeno's Conscience
Print
Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo's charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno's interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected-and unexpectedly happy-marriage to Ada's homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno's Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.
Publisher: New York : Vintage Books, 2003
Edition: 1st Vintage International ed
ISBN: 9780375727764
0375727760
Branch Call Number: FICTION SVEVO 2003
Characteristics: xxv, 437 p. :,maps ;,21 cm
Additional Contributors: Weaver, William 1923-

Opinion

From Library Staff

Not your typical linear narrative, but hilarious and frenetic, Svevo's character of Zeno has been described as the Woody Allen of Italian fiction. Stay with it and you will smile. A great balance with the majority of more serious selections on this list.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app09 Version gurli Last updated 2014/12/09 10:52