[]
[]
Due to recent system upgrades, "My Reading History" in the Classic Catalog and "Recently Returned" titles from My MCL may take a few days to become available.

The Glass Castle

A Memoir
Walls, Jeannette (Book - 2006)
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
The Glass Castle
 Add a Comment  Add Tags

Print

Item Details

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
Authors: Walls, Jeannette
Title: The glass castle
a memoir
Publisher: New York : Scribner, 2006
Edition: 1st Scribner trade pbk. ed
Characteristics: 288, [11] p. ;,21 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Jeannette Walls
Notes: Includes a preview of the author's book : Half broke horses
Summary: In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over But the Shouting," Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family. The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.
ISBN: 074324754X
9780743247542
Branch Call Number: B-Wa1589g 2006
Subject Headings: Walls, Jeannette Children of alcoholics United States Biography Children of alcoholics West Virginia Welch Biography Dysfunctional families United States Case studies Dysfunctional families West Virginia Welch Case studies Poor West Virginia Welch Biography Homeless persons Family relationships New York (State) New York
Topical Term: Children of alcoholics
Children of alcoholics
Dysfunctional families
Dysfunctional families
Poor
Homeless persons
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

A story of survival whilst growing up amid a terribly dysfunctional family. Walls has written a beautifully powerful book of growing up with an alcoholic father and an eccentric mother.

Join the discussion on Dec. 4, 2014. The author tells the story of her dysfunctional, yet vibrant, family and the intense love that held them together.

The child of an alcoholic father and an eccentric artist mother discusses her family's nomadic upbringing, during which she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outmaneuvered bill collectors and the authorities.

The author of this book grew up in a household with parents that were definitely eccentric and probably mentally ill. She and her siblings had to learn how to take care of themselves, and in this memoir she looks back on that life with sadness, compassion, and even humor.

Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

I was recommended to this book by my former English teacher, and I was so glad she told me about it, because I really did love it. I still don't know what to think about her parents, whether they were loving in their own weird and unconventional way, or truly abusive. Maybe a little bit of both. I think everybody would get something out of this book, and how truly blessed you are to live in such a great city and that you can succeed no matter what kind of life you've led in the past.

when is my turn will be???????????
i need it on 5th November
so please let me the due date of other users

Oct 27, 2014
  • readerpat rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

An unbelievable story. Four kids living in total poverty with two useless parents. It is hard to imagine how they made it through to adulthood,
Don't read this book if you are offended by bad language which is sprinkled all through the book.

Aug 20, 2014
  • kindrabirss rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I've just finished reading this book for the second time and again I read it in 2 days and loved it. While the writer's parents were completely unconventional, irresponsible, and neglectful she also describes them in a way that is so loving. They at times have an endearing quirkiness about them. I cannot believe what the author endured all her life with her parents but am amazed at how she could pull herself out and become successful. I wholeheartedly recommend this book.

Aug 09, 2014
  • ABenoit rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

I loved it! You would not think you were reading a memoir at all. Awesome!

Jul 17, 2014
  • ellegibson rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I really enjoyed this book. I love how Walls told her story in a way that took, what could have been a dark story, and told it in a way that wasn't super sad and depressing. While we can look at the events of her life and feel sorry for her I think she helped the reader realize that it was just her own reality. It wasn't meant to be sad, I think it was just meant to be told. She wanted to put it out there to help people understand where she came from.

I have since watched interviews with Walls about this memoir and love her attitude towards life and to the reactions this book has had. She helped me understand that for her this was a normal childhood. Her mother and father were all she knew to be right..

One thing I liked was that the book starts off in a way where we know she has escaped a bad life and made it! So I think that sets the tone for the book throughout. No matter what hardship she endures we know that eventually she comes out on top.

Jul 09, 2014
  • teal_tiger_lilly rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

i enjoy this book so much it amazes me of how hard it is moving from one place to another every minute and living a life that is not perfect but they manage to take care of themselves and one another... the only part i found crazy was when jeanette was burned when she was cooking at the stove at age three.... and when she dropped out of the car and roled down a hill and no one noticed until her parents came back for her... ofr when she as well as lori, brian and there mother shopped lift in order for maureen to have somre decent clothes to were for school... or even when there was no food brian and jeanette was going dumpster diving for school and jeanette got raped by bill.. a bo y from her old town... and how he came to the house with a bb gun and how they aimed a pistle at him and almost shot him as he ran for his life
..... this bookj is good because it causes u to think about everything that people go through :)

Read this book when I was in grade 8 or 9. It never gets old :)

May 22, 2014
  • Stillreading rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

This book was great.

May 05, 2014
  • Persnickity_squirrel rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

When reading this book I thought it was an interesting take on life because most of us hear that the parents are stable and the kids are messed up. With this being the opposite it made for a very interesting read.

What got me was the last chapter and the twist that came with it. I would almost say it was worth reading just for that.

I don't like to give the plots away in reviews of movies or books, but I would say that this would have been a lot easier to take if Jeanette's parents were described as "Freegans" and not "homeless", but her life had to be hard and it is hard to believe that Jeanette didn't turn into a psychopath.

Very well written and an excellent read!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

MADKC4Ever thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Jul 17, 2014
  • ellegibson rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

ellegibson thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Aug 23, 2013
  • orange_squirrel_4 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

orange_squirrel_4 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Ninja_Kevin thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

May 06, 2011
  • Bonavista rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

I loved that she went through so much as a child and teenager but still held the faith the whole time and came out of it. I think, a better person for it.

May 03, 2011
  • carlakacz rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This was a very intriguing book to read, a glimpse into someones life that is almost unbelievable.

Remarkable memoir of resilence and redemption and a revelatory look into a family at once deeply dysfunctional and uniquely vibrant. When sober, Jeanette's brillant and charismatic father catured his children's imagination, teaching them physics, geology and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishones and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn't want the responsibility of raising a family. The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed and protected one another and eventually found their way to New York.Their parents followed them choosing to be homeless even as their children propsered.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

"I'm not upset because I'll miss you," Mom said. "I'm upset because you get to go to New York and I'm stuck here. It's not fair."

Videos

Add a Video

Jeannette Walls Interview

Jeannette Walls comes on The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson and speaks about her book, The Glass Castle.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app04 Version draggan_fix Last updated 2014/11/20 11:49