[]
[]

Those Across the River

Buehlman, Christopher (Book - 2011 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Those Across the River
Print

Item Details

Failed academic Frank Nichols and his wife, Eudora, have arrived in the sleepy Georgia town of Whitbrow, where Frank hopes to write a history of his family's old estate-the Savoyard Plantation- and the horrors that occurred there. At first, the quaint, rural ways of their new neighbors seem to be everything they wanted. But there is an unspoken dread that the townsfolk have lived with for generations. A presence that demands sacrifice. It comes from the shadowy woods across the river, where the ruins of Savoyard still stand. Where a longstanding debt of blood has never been forgotten. A debt that has been waiting patiently for Frank Nichols's homecoming...
Authors: Buehlman, Christopher
Title: Those across the river
Publisher: New York : Ace Books, 2011
Edition: 1st ed
Characteristics: 357 p. ;,24 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Christopher Buehlman
ISBN: 0441020674
9780441020676
Branch Call Number: FICTION BUEHLMAN 2011
Subject Headings: Memory Fiction Family secrets Fiction Plantations Georgia Fiction World War, 1914-1918 Veterans Fiction
Genre/Form: Horror fiction
Topical Term: Memory
Family secrets
Plantations
World War, 1914-1918
LCCN: 2011005232
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

More Southern Gothic in the vein of O'Connor, Oates, Faulkner, even Harry Crews. Small-town life in Georgia and it's denizens haunt this brilliant first novel from Buehlman. A fresh, new voice in weird fiction.

A man arrives in the sleepy Georgia town of Whitbrow, where he hopes to write a history of his family's old estate and the horrors that occurred there. He discovers that there is an unspoken dread that the townsfolk have lived with for generations.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

May 01, 2014
  • MillardMari rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

This will creep up on you; be prepared to enjoy and run! It is horrific and apparently being made into a movie.

Nov 09, 2013
  • HelloJosephine rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

True to period and detail. Characters that really live on the page, and a whole new take on zombies.

May 27, 2013
  • finn75 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

A really great tale that sends chills down your back! Creepy!

May 09, 2013
  • welcha1 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

Listened to the audio version - very well read - suspenseful and exciting. A good listen for sure!

I normally wouldn’t go near a zombie novel but this is something different. It’s set after World War I when an academic and his wife settle in a small Southern town where, years before, horrific things happened on a slave plantation. What happens later is linked to the terrible events of the past and what lies beyond the river.

Best reads of 2012: Philip Tew, Selection and Access Librarian, shares his top novels of 2012.

Nov 02, 2011
  • DesPlainesReaders rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Creepy and scary!

Oct 20, 2011
  • Nords rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Simply one of the best horror/thriller books I've read in a long time. If you like early Stephen King or Dean Koontz, you'll really like this book. It has a very interesting setting and time period (deep south in the US in the years after WWI). There are lots of throw backs to the Civil War in this book which add to the suspense. I won't give away the 'creature' element at all but it is very well done without resorting to cliche. The main couple are very interesting and give you something to root for. Even the ending was well done, unlike a lot of other SF/horror/thrillers out there. Definitely a must read for fans of this genre.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app02 Version sidamo (sidamo) Last updated 2014/09/17 15:16