Dangerous Women

Book - 2013
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Dangerous Women
Print
"All new and original to this volume, the 21 stories in Dangerous Women include work by twelve New York Times bestsellers, and seven stories set in the authors' bestselling continuities--including a new "Outlander" story by Diana Gabaldon, a tale of Harry Dresden's world by Jim Butcher, a story from Lev Grossman set in the world of The Magicians, and a 35,000-word novella by George R. R. Martin about the Dance of the Dragons, the vast civil war that tore Westeros apart nearly two centuries before the events of A Game of Thrones. Also included are original stories of dangerous women--heroines and villains alike--by Brandon Sanderson, Joe Abercrombie, Sherilynn Kenyon, Lawrence Block, Carrie Vaughn, S. M. Stirling, Sharon Kay Penman, and many others."-- Provided by publisher.

Publisher: New York :, Tor,, 2013
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780765332066
076533206X
9781429955966
Branch Call Number: FICTION DANGEROUS 2013
Characteristics: 784 pages ;,25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jan 04, 2015
  • Chapel_Hill_KenMc rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Like most anthologies, this collection contains a few golden kernels within the chaff. The selections cross genres, including fantasy, mystery, and suspense. Edited by George R.R. Martin ("Game of Thrones"), his own novella reads more like an appendix to a history of the "Thrones" universe and will only interest serious fans.

Nov 29, 2014
  • Aquarius_22_HN rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

I got this book just for The Princess and The Queen by George R. R. Martin. If you haven't read it yet, do it now. You will not regret it.

Apr 01, 2014
  • bishop026 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

My four star rating is ONLY for the George Martin tale.

Mar 08, 2014
  • zippycat rated this: 2.5 stars out of 5.

A series of not-so-short stories, mostly sci-fi or fantasy. I skipped through many of them, just not that interesting.

Jan 21, 2014

"There's something for everyone in this genre-spanning anthology of 21 stories, in which women - heroines and villainesses alike - take centre stage. Fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files, Diana Gabaldon's Outlander saga, and George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire will enjoy exploring new facets of the worlds in which these series are set. Meanwhile, stand-alone stories by fantasy stalwarts such as Megan Lindholm, Brandon Sanderson, and Joe Abercrombie complement entries by a diverse group of veteran authors known for their work in other genres, including Sharon Kay Penman, Lawrence Block, and Nancy Kress." Fantasy January 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/e88314ee-6fa8-4404-a4ca-a4434322a503?postId=6ada4461-b345-4148-b15d-3f13e91854b6

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]