[]
[]

Blue Plate Special

An Autobiography of My Appetites
Christensen, Kate (Book - 2013 )
Average Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.
Blue Plate Special
Print

Item Details

"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap.
Authors: Christensen, Kate, 1962-
Title: Blue plate special
an autobiography of my appetites
Publisher: New York :, Doubleday,, [2013]
Edition: First edition
Characteristics: 353 pages ;,22 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Kate Christensen
Contents: Prologue
Berkeley
Wildermuth
San Miguel
Verde Valley and Spring Valley
France
Upstate, Oregon, Iowa
New York
Williamsburg and Greenpoint
Monitor Street
New England
Summary: "In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap.
ISBN: 9780385536264
0385536267
9780385536271
0385536275
Branch Call Number: B-Ch4622b 2013
Subject Headings: Christensen, Kate, 1962- Women authors, American 21st century Biography Authors, American 21st century Biography Mothers and daughters United States Appetite Psychological aspects Food Psychological aspects
Topical Term: Women authors, American
Authors, American
Mothers and daughters
Appetite
Food
LCCN: 2012048556
MARC Display»

Library Staff

This memoir has it all; beautiful descriptions of food, dysfunctional families, loneliness, using food to fill the void, resilience, and humor.

This lovely book is part memoir, part food sentimentality. A wonderfully satisfying read.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 28, 2014
  • MARIA E WHELAN rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Absolutely stunning memoir. Gritty, honest, and entirely engaging. Highly recommended.

"Builds on the author's popular food-centric blog to recount her unconventional upbringing and her unusually happy and occasionally sorrowful life of literary and culinary sensuality." Biography and Memoir November 2013 newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=701378

Aug 26, 2013
  • five4kc rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

Painful to read. Couldn't even force myself to finish it.

Aug 21, 2013
  • Jane60201 rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I agree with Della V. It's really just another autobiography of someone with a screwed up life. I've never read her other works and don't think I'll be doing so.

Aug 21, 2013
  • DellaV rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

Just another author of a blog that didn't really translate to an actual book. Yes, her life story is somewhat interesting in the way a friend at church or whatever is interesting. Not a "take home" friend, though. Recipes are grudgingly added at the end of the chapters like an afterthought, but she plugs other things she's written like she's applying for a job. Not interesting. Other food authors have done this same thing, only much better, not boring their audience with every picayune detail of their lives, but instead spicing or sprinkling vignettes from their lives in amongst the recipes, and the recipes are delivered with the same enthusiasm as the vignettes. Not so this story. Good beach book, because it doesn't really require the reader to be plugged in to it to get what the author is up to. Not a read-again.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Aug 21, 2013
  • DellaV rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

DellaV thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 40 and 55

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/29 09:56