[]
[]

Red Rising

Brown, Pierce (Book - 2014 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
Red Rising
Print

Item Details

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children. But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow and Reds like him, are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class. Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity's overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society's ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies . . . even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.
Authors: Brown, Pierce, 1988-
Title: Red Rising
Publisher: New York :, Del Rey,, [2014]
Edition: First edition
Characteristics: 382 pages :,map ;,25 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Pierce Brown
Summary: Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children. But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow and Reds like him, are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class. Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity's overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society's ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies . . . even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.
ISBN: 9780345539786
0345539788
Branch Call Number: SF BROWN 2014
Subject Headings: Government, Resistance to Fiction
Genre/Form: Dystopias
Science fiction
Topical Term: Government, Resistance to
LCCN: 2013020634
MARC Display»

Opinion

From Library Staff

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will o... Read More »

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations. But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Geat book. Excellent pacing, some good backstory. It's a story set on a futuristic Mars so on first glance you would expect a Sci-Fi novel but it's really much more of a fantasy adventure. Forget Hunger Games, this is much darker and not for young readers even though the protagonist is 16 going on 25. For readers looking for a comparison, get Kushiel's Dart by Jacquelaine Carey, another great book.

Jul 06, 2014
  • donnamswan rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Too much like "Hunger Games". I would be very surprised if this isn't a movie in a few years. Interesting relationships and how they evolve. I just couldn't stay with the book long enough to finish even one chapter per sitting.

Jun 24, 2014
  • LibraryK8 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This book is an epic revolution story if there ever was one. Think Braveheart in space! Pierce doesn't paint his characters with one color, each is multifaceted and complex (which is basically the point of the book that we can't be boiled down to a color). Fans of Hunger Games and Diverget will love the books action and brutality.

Jun 17, 2014
  • wseal2000 rated this: 1.5 stars out of 5.

Couldn't finish it.

May 14, 2014
  • KateHillier rated this: 2 stars out of 5.

This book gets major points for world building but aside from that it sort of gets lost in itself. When I first started to book I was impressed with the detail of life mining on Mars and the society that works down there. The author does not spoon feed you the structure of the Society or what certain words and terms mean instead letting them become apparent as they would naturally.

Then the book lost me.

Our protagonist, Darrow, is a sixteen year old widower (you get married young if you're a Red on Mars) is sucked into a revolution to overthrow their Gold overlords. He integrates into this society, after some extremely graphic and comprehensive surgery, essentially seamlessly. I did not find that believable. There was a little bit about how he had some sort Intelligence Tonic to suddenly understand a thousands years of law and literature but even in this world I find that a bit of a stretch. There is also a lot of people saying Darrow is the One, almost with the amount of reverence of Neo in the Matrix, but I'm not really convinced why. Because his wife died and because of how she died? Because of what she wanted from him by dying?

The rest of the book is like Battle Royale meets Hogwarts with a dash of Ender's Game. Sounds like a winning combination but I found it tired instead. There are a lot of winks and nods to other big fantasy and sci-fi franchises but this book really just reads like a mix of a lot of what other series have done and done a bit better.

May 09, 2014
  • nanajoe rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

The rape, mutilation, culling, murder was just too much.

It was hard to get into the book in the early pages - too much description and not much story. However, as I continued it got better and better. Now I can hardly wait for the next book in the series.

Apr 02, 2014
  • MissEavis rated this: 3 stars out of 5.

I dunno about this author. He seems to have taken a bunch of the best ideas from various pieces of fiction and fit them together to create something that looks like his own work, but it may not be as original as it appears. I don't know if the author meant to do this or if it just happened but it's definitely there... the story is good and I will read the next one to see if it progresses any better. This is our first first book. Also at times I felt as though the rating and story itself was a little garbled, hopefully that will improve in the next one as well. Not a bad first try I suppose

Mar 21, 2014
  • Kyanite rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Wow. Just wow.

I agree with previous reviews that compare this book to Ender's Game or Lord of the Flies, but Hunger Games? This isn't a book for children, or younger teens.

Mar 07, 2014
  • ValleyViewLibrarians rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Brown has combined recognizable elements from The Hunger Games, Lord of the Flies, and Game of Thrones to create this dystopian survival thriller. The well-drawn characters are engaging, the action never stops long, and all the backstabbing and betrayals from students and Proctors alike make for fun reading. This won't win any literature awards and the slow start might derail some readers, but those who haven't had enough of dark dystopian futures where kids die by the dozen in an effort to overthrow the cruel authoritarian adult government will eat it up.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

Jul 06, 2014
  • donnamswan rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

donnamswan thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Apr 07, 2014
  • Kyanite rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Kyanite thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Apr 06, 2014
  • rem85 rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

rem85 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

Jun 24, 2014
  • LibraryK8 rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Darrow has the most dangerous job on Mars. He is the helldiver of Lycos, running the drill deep underground that mines Mars for valuable natural resources. Helldivers to not generally live long lives, like his father who died when he was a child. But Darrow has other plans, he is going to make something of himself, and his clan. But he can only rise so far, the caste system of society keeps his people down. They are Reds, deemed to be good at nothing but hard labor. They are ruled over by the Blues, Greys, and at the top...the Golds, the apex of human evolution.

To celebrate a particularly bountiful month in the mines, Darrow and his wife sneak off to see a big of the martian sky (a view not allowed to lowly Reds). Returning home they are caught and imprisoned for their crime. When their punishment, a whipping turns public, Eo sacrifices her life to speak out against the Golds and the caste system. She and Darrow are sentenced to die by hanging...Darrow's life is saved by the resistance movement, Eo's life is not.

The resistance tells Darrow they need him to overthrow the Golds, to prove that anyone has what it takes to be a Gold and that the colors mean nothing. Now that the Golds think he is dead, the plan is to teach Darrow to be one of them, to infiltrate their ranks, to push him into the highest ranks the government and military. Then to reveal his true origins and bring the system crashing down.

But first Darrow must survive the most grueling surgeries to remove his Red scars, a grueling initiation and finally the cruel war-games that constitute an entrance exam to the Gold academy. Can Darrow leave his old ways behind, sacrifice everything to avenge Eo?

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app08 Version tobio (tobio) Last updated 2014/09/24 13:12