[]
[]

A Garden of Marvels

How We Discovered That Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants

Kassinger, Ruth

(Book - 2014)
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
A Garden of Marvels
 Add a Comment  Add Tags
Print
"In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York :, William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,, [2014]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 0062049011
9780062049018
0062048996
9780062048998
Branch Call Number: 580.92 K1937g 2014
Characteristics: xviii, 395 pages :,illustrations ;,22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Great combo of some of the whackiest botanics I've ever heard of plus a good historical review of the word's first botanists and the myths they had to banish. I love an author who lets their sense of humor show.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

NYPL Staff Pick
Everyone likes a book about sex. Kassinger gives us a scientific look at the subject and how it involves plants, as well as plant anatomy, and generally how plants grow in layman's terms. It is an interweaving of history, science and gardening that will have you buying more houseplants.
- Jessica Cline, Mid-Manhattan Library

Apr 23, 2014
  • lshapir2 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Good read, lots of interesting facts and anecdotes that made me appreciate my own garden and gardening efforts a bit better. She does tend to get somewhat technical in places (when explaining scientific processes involved in photosynthesis for example) and she throws a lot of historical names out when going into the early history of botany, and I found I kept having to flip back pages and remind myself who did what and why it was important. Overall, I enjoyed it and would recommend to any gardener or anyone interested in learning more about our relationship with the plant life all around us.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Apr 23, 2014
  • lshapir2 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

lshapir2 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app03 Version eventuell-fix Last updated 2014/11/26 13:11