[]
[]

A Garden of Marvels

How We Discovered That Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants
Kassinger, Ruth (Book - 2014 )
Average Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
A Garden of Marvels
Print

Item Details

"In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"-- Provided by publisher.
Authors: Kassinger, Ruth, 1954-
Title: A garden of marvels
how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
Publisher: New York :, William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,, [2014]
Edition: First edition
Characteristics: xviii, 395 pages :,illustrations ;,22 cm
Statement of Responsibility: Ruth Kassinger
Contents: Pt. I. Inside a plant
Cocktail, anyone?
The birth and long life of the vegetable lamb
Through a glass, however darkly
The persecuted professor
Inside a plant
Pt. II. Roots
Restless roots
The enormous gourd
The way of all water
How to kill a hickory
Our fine fungal friends
Arsenic and young fronds
The once and future wheat
Off to the races
Pt. III. Leaves
New beginnings
A momentous mint
Leaves eat air
The vegetable slug
Once in a blue-green moon
The tenacity of trees
Amazing grass
Pt. IV. Flowers
Sex in the garden
Who needs Romeo?
Black petunias
The abominable mystery
Cheap sex
Scent and sex
Pt. V. Onward, upward, and afterward
Trouble in paradise
Onward and upward
Afterward
Summary: "In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"-- Provided by publisher.
ISBN: 9780062048998
0062048996
9780062049018
0062049011
9780062049032
Branch Call Number: 580.92 K1937g 2014
Bibliography: Includes bibliographical references (pages [368]-379) and index
Subject Headings: Kassinger, Ruth, 1954- Anecdotes Women gardeners United States Anecdotes Botanists United States Anecdotes Botany Humor
Topical Term: Women gardeners
Botanists
Botany
LCCN: 2014002824
MARC Display»

Library Staff

Great combo of some of the whackiest botanics I've ever heard of plus a good historical review of the word's first botanists and the myths they had to banish. I love an author who lets their sense of humor show.


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Apr 23, 2014
  • lshapir2 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Good read, lots of interesting facts and anecdotes that made me appreciate my own garden and gardening efforts a bit better. She does tend to get somewhat technical in places (when explaining scientific processes involved in photosynthesis for example) and she throws a lot of historical names out when going into the early history of botany, and I found I kept having to flip back pages and remind myself who did what and why it was important. Overall, I enjoyed it and would recommend to any gardener or anyone interested in learning more about our relationship with the plant life all around us.

Age

Add Age Suitability

Apr 23, 2014
  • lshapir2 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

lshapir2 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

There are no videos for this title yet.

Find it at MCL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.