Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned

Mosley, Walter

(Downloadable Audiobook)
Average Rating: 5 stars out of 5.
Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned
Three decades ago, young Socrates Fortlow murdered a man and woman in cold blood with his huge "rock-breaking hands" while in a drunken rage. 27 years of hard time in an Indiana prison followed. Now he is out, living in a cramped two-room apartment in an abandoned building in Watts, scavenging bottles and delivering groceries for a supermarket. The tough, brooding ex-con is determined to understand the violence and anarchy in the world around him--and in his own soul. A series of related stories make up this lyrical novel that explores the issues of morality, crime, poverty and racism through the eye of the most unforgettable character since Easy Rawlins.
Branch Call Number: OverDrive downloadable audiobook
Characteristics: 1 sound file :,digital
Additional Contributors: Winfield, Paul
OverDrive, Inc


Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jul 07, 2012
  • PTMartin rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

This is an excellent book and Winfield a very good reader. Socrates' life unfolds through the story that each chapter tells. There's a bit of acoustic guitar that introduces each story, which overall is a nice touch.

I have no idea how these stories represent a black man's experience, since I'm a white woman. But the emotion and desire for life that Socrates reveals over the novel are strong, poignant and true to my experience and I can only think that they can be true to a black man's too. I guess that makes it a novel that speaks to the human condition.

I really enjoyed the work and would highly recommend it.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

MCL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error


Powered by BiblioCommons.
app06 Version Hasselnot Last updated 2014/12/22 14:47