[]
[]

Multcolib My Librarian Nick: Exquisite wrinkles in the Iron Curtain

The Master and Margarita
The Master and Margarita By Bulgakov, Mikhail (Book - 1996 ) FICTION BULGAKOV 1996 All copies in use. Availability details Holds: 2 on 1 copy

Annotation:An excellent translation of a multi-layered narrative lasagna, Bulgakov's novel moves slowly but you can't stop reading. It's like strolling through a museum, you read as you would stumble along historical galleries. It just has to be read, the book is a different experience for everyone.

The Heart of A Dog
The Heart of A Dog By Bulgakov, Mikhail (Book - 2013 ) FICTION BULGAKOV 2013 Available in some locations

Annotation:Although "Master and Margarita" has moments of great comedy, this satire transforms humanity and Communism into a mutt named Sharik. Bookend with Adam's "Shardik?"

Dead Souls
Dead Souls By Gogolʹ, Nikolaĭ Vasilʹevich (Book - 1997 ) FICTION GOGOL 1997 Available in some locations

Annotation:Bulgakov himself commissioned a play on this novel he liked it so much. If the character of Chichikov doesn't make you laugh, check your pulse. Black humor and politics mesh into a powerful novel-length manifesto.

Petrograd
Petrograd By Gelatt, Philip (Book - 2011 ) GN GELATT 2011 Available in some locations

Annotation:Of all the literature surrounding the enigmatic Rasputin, this graphic novel flares with authenticity and bite. The color, the story, the characters, they all swirl in a great palette of history and locale. Highly recommended.

There Once Lived A Woman Who Tried to Kill Her Neighbor's Baby
There Once Lived A Woman Who Tried to Kill Her Neighbor's Baby Scary Fairy Tales By Petrushevska︠i︡a, L︠i︡udmila (Book - 2009 ) FICTION PETRUSHEV 2009 All copies in use. Availability details Holds: 6 on 2 copies

Annotation:I just discovered Petrushevskaia's work last year, 20 years too late. Realism in many different disguises drive these nimble stories of Russian life. Fans of Calvino, Borges, and Poe should take a chance on this woman's wonderful work.

Autobiography of A Corpse
Autobiography of A Corpse By Krzhizhanovskiĭ, Sigizmund (Book - 2013 ) FICTION KRZHIZHAN 2013 All copies in use. Availability details

Annotation:A great companion to Petrushevskaia's collection, these tales were written before WWII yet still read vibrant and new. Very funny as well as elegant.

Red Spectres
Red Spectres Russian Gothic Tales From the Twentieth Century (Book - 2013 ) FICTION RED 2013 Available in some locations

Annotation:Practically suppressed in the early 20th century by the Russian authorities, these supernatural tales release the tension and uncertainty of political instability. Stories by Bulgakov, other fine Russian writers, and the story that inspired "The Master and Margarita."

Homo Zapiens
Homo Zapiens By Pelevin, Viktor (Book - 2006 ) FICTION PELEVIN 2006 Available in some locations

Annotation:I love Pelevin's humorous style and he mixes post-Communist Russian society with Western elements of pop-culture in this best-selling title. Like other titles on this list, Pelevin shows Russian literature is not all suppression and snow. Highly recommended.

Suite Française
Suite Française By Némirovsky, Irène (Book - 2006 ) FICTION NEMIROVSK Available in some locations

Annotation:The story behind Nemirovsky's life blueprints this bittersweet and unfinished posthumous story of Parisian villagers during the Nazi occupation of France. A powerful jolt from a respected Russian novelist, not published for 60 years.

The Enchanted Wanderer and Other Stories
The Enchanted Wanderer and Other Stories By Leskov, N. S. (Book - 2012 ) FICTION LESKOV 2013 Available in some locations

Annotation:Fans of classic Russian lit may have let these original and enchanting stories from an underrated writer slip by. Like reading a campfire storyteller's yarns, Leskov wrote highly original pieces of rural Russian peasant life.

Collected Stories
Collected Stories By Bunin, Ivan Alekseevich (Book - 2007 ) FICTION BUNIN Available in some locations

Annotation:Most famous for his short story "The Gentleman from San Francisco", and well-deserved, explore Bunin's other controversial, textured, and precise tales of a chameleonic Russia in this collection.

Pale Fire
Pale Fire By Nabokov, Vladimir Vladimirovich (Audiobook CD - 2010 ) CD Fiction NABOKOV All copies in use. Availability details

Annotation:I didn't forget you Nabokov or Audio CD lovers out there. His first novel post-Lolita, let the voice actors read Nabokov for you. A hilarious, thrilling tale, it will make you picture Peter Lorre shrouded in fog.

A Shared List by multcolib_nickk

Member of Multnomah County Library

Send multcolib_nickk a Message FollowFollow IgnoreIgnore Report This List

Description

Saddened from the end of the Olympics or the news of the struggle in Crimea? Wonder if there are other accessible Soviet writers who aren't Dostoyevsky or Tolstoy? Keep yourself tethered to Mother Russia with these classic and contemporary works that won't win you any medals, but may inspire you to appreciate the varied treasures offered from this diverse kingdom.


English
Topic Guide

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app09 Version sidamo (sidamo) Last updated 2014/09/15 11:31