Sorcerer to the Crown

Sorcerer to the Crown

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
21
1
1
In this sparkling debut, magic and mayhem clash with the British elite...The Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, one of the most respected organizations throughout all of England, has long been tasked with maintaining magic within His Majesty's lands. But lately, the once proper institute has fallen into disgrace, naming an altogether unsuitable gentleman—a freed slave who doesn't even have a familiar—as their Sorcerer Royal, and allowing England's once profuse stores of magic to slowly bleed dry. At least they haven't stooped so low as to allow women to practice what is obviously a man's profession...At his wit's end, Zacharias Wythe, Sorcerer Royal of the Unnatural Philosophers and eminently proficient magician, ventures to the border of Fairyland to discover why England's magical stocks are drying up. But when his adventure brings him in contact with a most unusual comrade, a woman with immense power and an unfathomable gift, he sets on a path which will alter the nature of sorcery in all of Britain—and the world at large...
Publisher: 2015
ISBN: 9780698409439
Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From Library Staff

"At his wit's end, Zacharias Wythe, Sorcerer Royal of the Unnatural Philosophers and eminently proficient magician, ventures to the border of Fairyland to discover why England's magical stocks are drying up. But when his adventure brings him in contact with a most unusual comrade, a woman wi... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Oct 21, 2020

I love both the Regency period AND fantasy...so this fantasy is perfect for me. A super fun alternate Regency period with wizards and schools that teach magically gifted women to suppress their magical gifts because it's just not done for women to wield powerful magic brightened my week. A suitably plucky heroine totally ignoring societal norms of the time and standing up for herself made it all the more enjoyable. Looking forward to reading the second installment.

IndyPL_SteveB Feb 06, 2020

What a lot of fun! A witty fantasy novel, with a style obviously influenced by Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, Susanna Clarke, and other British writers. The author is a young woman raised in Malaysia and currently living in England, so issues of sex, class, and race are a major part of the story.

Zacharias Wythe is the official Sorcerer to the King of England in a “Regency” kind of period in English history. He is an African, rescued from slavery as a young boy and adopted by the previous Sorcerer to the crown, because he showed magical ability. After many years intensely training Zacharias, his adoptive father died, leaving the young man as a highly controversial head Sorcerer in a political culture where dozens of upper-class, white, male magic users think they belong in charge.

But England’s store of magical energy seems to be disappearing. On a trip to the borders of Fairyland to investigate the loss of magic, he stops at a girl’s school to give a speech. There Zacharias discovers Prunella, a young mixed-race woman who might just be the most powerful natural magician in England. After she saves his life from an assassination attempt, he agrees to bring her back to London to teach her how to use her abilities.

The writing style, combined with a timid male lead and a headstrong female lead, leads to a lot of humor, mixed with clever battles and adventures. It’s a delightful story, with many twists and turns.

Followed by a sequel, *The True Queen*.

IndyPL_ErinM Dec 31, 2019

Well-paced and engaging this will appeal to readers who enjoyed "Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell".

A wonderfully engaging mixture of fantasy and Georgette Heyer style regency romance. This book contains one of my all-time favorite fictional characters in Prunella Gentleman. The refreshingly diverse cast of characters and witty banter had me smiling the whole way through. This book would suit fans of "Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell". Highly recommended!

JCLHebahA Jun 07, 2018

Sparkling, witty, banter-filled regency romp featuring an England whose magic is fading and two heroes who must save it in spite of precarious social standing.

a
ApollosRaven
Jun 21, 2017

Excellent mix of fantasy fiction with an alternate regency era. Zen Cho presents us with a wizard in distress who is an appealing romantic hero (if not quite assertive enough) and a too-assertive orphan who discovers that she has set her goal (marriage to escape poverty) far below her abilities. Magical adventure, romance, and a few good-humored jabs at the prejudices of the era.

t
Tabby_6
Apr 26, 2017

Trash. I couldn't bear to finish it. The affected, stilted dialogue is too much to bear. Not to mention the characters are cardboard, and the action in the first two-thirds of the book went nowhere. Returned it. Advise you not to pick it up.

NBaccari Sep 14, 2016

Slowgoing at first, but really great read towards the end. The language and plot will remind you of Jane Austen, but there is a healthy dose of fantasy and fantastical plotlines in here as well. Recommend for Austen lovers, and fantasy and historical fiction fans.

ArapahoeBridget Aug 16, 2016

This was delightful. If you're in the mood for something that mixes humor and magic with political intrigue and historical fantasy, I can't recommend it enough. It even addresses class and race in engaging and surprising ways, making for a satisfying and highly enjoyable read.

d
dkgriff
Aug 04, 2016

sorry .. just couldn't get into this one .. read first 100 pages and it seemed to go nowhere.

View All Comments

Summary

Add a Summary
s
shayshortt
Jul 12, 2016

Following the death of his guardian, Sir Stephen Wythe, Zacharias Wythe finds himself Sorcerer to the Crown, and head of the Royal Society of Unnatural Philosophers, the chief magical body of England. It was Sir Stephen’s dearest wish that Zacharias succeed him, but that does not stop rumours from circulating that Zacharias murdered his benefactor in order to seize the Staff. Worse, sorcerers disgruntled by Zacharias’ sudden rise to power have chosen to blame the ascent of a black orphan to the nation’s highest magical office for Britain’s longstanding decrease in magical atmosphere. Hoping to uncover the reason for the ebb of magic, Zacharias travels to the British border with Faery. Along the way he acquires a traveling companion, one Miss Prunella Gentleman, the mixed-race daughter of a deceased English magician who brought her to England from India shortly before his untimely demise. Prunella causes Zacharias to question the Society’s longstanding prohibition on women performing magic, for this untrained young woman may be the most powerful magician he has ever seen, and hold the key to unlocking the flow of magic into England.

Quotes

Add a Quote
s
shayshortt
Jul 12, 2016

“It is shockingly ungallant of men to withhold from us our fair share of magic.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top