Select language, opens an overlay
The Best Man

The Best Man

Downloadable Audiobook - 2016 | Unabridged
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack GantosArcher Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Listening Library (Audio), 2016
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780735288898
Call Number: OverDrive Audiobook
Characteristics: 1 sound file : digital
audio file
Additional Contributors: Crouch, Michael
OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
n
nbkli49
Nov 10, 2016

Phenomenal! Age appropriate and broadminded treatment of gay marriage by a great writer. With heaps of Peck's quirky humor artfully blended with coming-of-age insights and perceptive. A masterpiece that will likely be rewarded with numerous literary awards and will undoubtedly be banned by countless conservative school districts.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top