Select language, opens an overlay
Before the End, After the Beginning

Before the End, After the Beginning

Book - 2011 | 1st ed
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Before the End, After the Beginning is an exquisite collection of ten stories from Dagoberto Gilb. The pieces come in the wake of a stroke Gilb suffered at his home in Austin, Texas, in 2009, and a majority of the stories were written over many months of recovery. The result is a powerful and triumphant book that tackles common themes of existence and identity and describes the American experience in a raw, authentic vernacular unique to Gilb."--Page [2] of jacket.
Publisher: New York : Grove Press ; [Berkeley, CA] : Distributed by Publishers Group West, ©2011
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780802120007
Call Number: FICTION GILB 2011
Characteristics: 194 pages ; 20 cm


From Library Staff

Gilb offers us a world where every character says something about the American Southwest via his or her actions and words. Every protagonist and secondary and third character is a reflection of a socio-economic world that has been transformed by globalization.

From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at MCL

To Top