The Saturday Night Ghost Club

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
"A short, irresistible, and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: [New York] : Penguin Books, 2019
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780143133933
0143133934
Call Number: FICTION DAVIDSON 2019
Characteristics: 211 pages ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
d
danielestes
Nov 14, 2020

The Saturday Night Ghost Club has shades of Stephen King, Stranger Things and the novel K-PAX, all three of which I love so this book was like being introduced to a new friend I felt like I've known all my life.

In my opinion, when it comes to stories of the supernatural, it's the natural human elements that make it extraordinary or not. It's like science fiction in that way. Successful tales about things unimaginably far away, across space and time and into the realm of death itself, are actually about us. It's a way of holding up a mirror to humanity.

KHCPL_Wagner Oct 18, 2019

This offbeat horror novel features a group of kids exploring local folklore.

JCLGreggW Jul 11, 2019

More "Stand By Me" than "Stranger Things," this is a charming literary coming-of-age novella set in 1980s Niagara Falls where a lonely boy explores the town's mysteries alongside his friends and his eccentric uncle. Sweet and nostalgic, perfect for autumn reading.

liljables Jan 02, 2019

My cousin was lucky enough to attend the Writers Trust Gala this year, at which he received a signed copy of The Saturday Night Ghost Club from Craig Davidson, who was seated at his table! My gem of a cousin was kind enough to have the book signed for me and sent it my way.

This was my first Craig Davidson book - I'm a bit sheepish to admit that I omitted Precious Cargo from my Canada Reads reading last year - and I'm happy to report that it was delightful. It's a bit spooky/unsettling, as the title might suggest, but definitely not a horror or thriller novel (which Davidson writes under the name Nick Cutter, incidentally). The Saturday Night Ghost Club is full of nostalgia and Canadiana, and I really identified with Jake, the pre-teen hero who'd rather be learning about the natural (or supernatural) than playing sports with his bullies. Think Stranger Things but more literary and less terrifying.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
MCL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top