Best Friends

Best Friends

Book - 2019 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
7
"Sixth grade is supposed to be perfect. Shannon's got a sure spot in the in-crowd called The Group, and her best friend is their leader, Jen, the most popular girl in school. But the rules are always changing, and Shannon has to scramble to keep up. She never knows which TV shows are cool, what songs to listen to, and who she's allowed to talk to. Who makes these rules, anyway? And does Shannon have to follow them?" -- Page [4] of cover.
Publisher: New York : First Second, 2019
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781250317452
1250317452
9781250317469
1250317460
Call Number: jgn HALE 2019
Characteristics: 239 pages : color illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Shannon knows sixth grade is going to be a perfect year. She's got a spot in the in-crowd called The Group, and her best friend is their leader Jen, the most popular girl in school.But the rules are always changing, and Shannon has to scramble to keep up. She never knows which TV shows are cool, ... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
DCLkids Aug 07, 2020

A Great Books for Great Kids staff pick 2020. In this charming sequel to "Real Friends," Shannon is now not only navigating junior high, but also learning the new meaning of friendship in her life as she grows older. Grades 4-6.

k
kiml00
Mar 27, 2020

I’m glad the author talks about anxiety. A lot of kids feel it but does know what it means. It’s great the way she described it. The story did a good job of showing the confusing life of the tweens. There’s not really a straight forward rule for growing up and becoming/being a teen.

Like an answered prayer, I discover a sequel to Real Friends! Best Friends is even better, focusing on Shannon's 6th year and her coming-of-age as she understands the problems that come with growing up and how she finds solutions to them. I appreciated the more mature tone and problems, and loved the references. Hero and the Crown was a book I loved growing up, and I have it in my personal library. This is a great graphic novel and worth a read at any age.

d
darladoodles
Oct 25, 2019

With a pitch perfect cover to showcase their work, Shannon Hale and Leuyen Pham give us a stunning depiction into life in the sixth grade. Shannon struggles with classic questions dealing with friends, boys, and popularity. Though it may not look like it at times, we all struggle with growing up and making the kinds of friends who will support and encourage us along the way. Shannon has good days and bad days in this book. She says many a prayer for herself and for those in need. In the end, she learns much about herself and the reader benefits from her insights and experiences. Love all the cultural references including songs, books and TV shows. I had totally forgotten about Simon & Simon! This one is definitely going to be well received by the "Real Friends" crowd and will most certainly add new fans.

a
andreaalyshia
Oct 12, 2019

Great book! But parts of it were less interesting- like the story that she made up throughout the book. But still a great story

is real friends the same book as making friends?

JCLHeatherM Sep 06, 2019

Hale tackles the tricky minefields of friendship once more as Sharon enters the 6th grade and deals with friends moving away, sleepovers, gossip, boys, and creating your own schedule.

l
library_queen
Sep 05, 2019

LOVE this book

OPL_KrisC Sep 05, 2019

A great sequel to Shannon Hale's 1st graphic memoir, "Real Friends". In this volume, Shannon is still navigating the ups and downs of middle school along with trying to understand the rules of friendships. For fans of Raina Telgemeier, Terrib Libenson & Victoria Jamieson.

Age

Add Age Suitability
v
violet_bear_1739
Aug 06, 2020

violet_bear_1739 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 14

b
blue_bee_2204
Aug 05, 2020

blue_bee_2204 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

a
andreaalyshia
Oct 12, 2019

andreaalyshia thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

g
green_penguin_1591
Sep 30, 2019

green_penguin_1591 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

n
navy_cheetah_870
Sep 11, 2019

navy_cheetah_870 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

OPL_KrisC Sep 05, 2019

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

b
black_panther_3107
Jul 11, 2019

black_panther_3107 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top