Great Houses of the South

Great Houses of the South

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
An exquisitely photographed collection of the great houses and mansions of the South.
In the tradition of Rizzoli's Historic Houses of the Hudson Valley and Great Houses of New England , Great Houses of the South features a stunning array of newly photographed homes that range over three centuries and are distinctive examples of the architecture of the region. While in popular imagination the "Southern Style" is embodied in the classic Southern plantation house with its Greek Revival detailing--its stately white columns, wide porch, and symmetrical shape--the houses themselves are much more various and engaging, as shown in this important volume. From stately Stanton Hall of Natchez, Mississippi, one of the most magnificent and palatial residences of antebellum America; to Longue Vue House and Gardens of New Orleans, the luxurious Classical Revival-style home of Edgar and Edith Stern; to the fabled Biltmore of Asheville, North Carolina, the opulent French Renaissance-inspired chateau and Gilded Age estate of George Washington Vanderbilt, this lavish volume is comprehensive in scope and a landmark work of enduring interest to homeowners, architects, architecture historians, and all those who love fine architecture.
Publisher: New York : Rizzoli : Distributed to the U.S. trade by Random House, 2010
ISBN: 9780847833092
0847833097
Branch Call Number: 728.80975 O84g 2010
Characteristics: 271 p. : col. ill. ; 29 cm
Additional Contributors: Brooke, Steven

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

katbee Sep 23, 2016

This book is packed with large color photographs and short histories of the architecture and occupants of the houses. Each house has about 4 full page spreads. There are 39 houses from Washington DC down to Louisiana. It is a good resource for people interested in history and architecture.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top