The All of It

The All of It

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:

Jeannette Haien's award-winning first novel relates the seemingly simple tale of a parishioner confiding in her priest, but the tangled confession brings secrets to light that provoke a moral quandary for not only the clergyman, but the reader as well. Set in a small town in Ireland, Haien's intimate novel of conversations and dilemmas--perfect for readers of Paul Harding's Tinkers, Marilynne Robinson's Gilead, and Flannery O'Connor's Wise Blood--is "an elegantly written, compact and often subtle tale ofmorality and passion that gives voice to an age-old concern in a fresh way" (NewYork Times Book Review). Harper Perennial breathes new life into this 1986 classic in a new edition with an introduction by Ann Patchett.

Publisher: New York : HarperPerennial, 2011, c1986
Edition: 1st HarperPerennial ed
ISBN: 9780062090096
0062090097
Branch Call Number: FICTION HAIEN 2011
Characteristics: ix, 145 p. ; 21 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

While fishing in an Irish salmon stream one rainy morning, Father Declan de Loughry ponders the recent deathbed confessionof his parishioner Kevin Dennehy. It seems Dennehy and his wife, Enda had been quietly living a lie for fifty years.

Comment
multcolib_alisonk Apr 23, 2014

A quick, poignant read about love in all its forms. If you love beautiful language, small villages, all things Irish, fly fishing and philosophy, try this.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

multcolib_alisonk Apr 23, 2014

A quick, poignant read about love in all its forms. If you love beautiful language, small villages, all things Irish, fly fishing and philosophy, try this.

c
ClaireM_W
Nov 13, 2011

A classic story that makes you proud to be a human after all.

patienceandfortitude Oct 31, 2011

A short, but well-written and thought provoking novel, which takes place in Ireland and is about the relationship between a priest and a new widow with a big secret. Her life story is disturbing and his reactions to it as a man and a priest are quite fascinating. Read it in one day and enjoyed every minute.

e
elaineperry
Jul 28, 2011

This novel is a gem. It reads like a song.Haien capture the musicality of Irish speech beautifully. I missed its quiet impact in the late 80s and am glad of Ann Patchett's recent enthusiasm and promotion which is giving it a new life.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top