Those Across the River

Those Across the River

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Moving to rural Georgia, a failed academic plans to write a history of his family's old plantation and the horrors that occurred there but instead discovers a sense of unspoken dread among the townspeople and a long-standing debt of blood.
Publisher: New York : Ace Books, 2011
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780441020676
Branch Call Number: FICTION BUEHLMAN 2011
Characteristics: 357 pages ; 24 cm


From Library Staff

When he inherits his ancestral home in the rural south, a professor decides to write a book about his family history. He discovers monsters-- and that there's something still living in those woods. This is such a pageturner.

More Southern Gothic in the vein of O'Connor, Oates, Faulkner, even Harry Crews. Small-town life in Georgia and it's denizens haunt this brilliant first novel from Buehlman. A fresh, new voice in weird fiction.

A man arrives in the sleepy Georgia town of Whitbrow, where he hopes to write a history of his family's old estate and the horrors that occurred there. He discovers that there is an unspoken dread that the townsfolk have lived with for generations.

From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jul 11, 2017

Loved this book. Could not put it down. Suspenseful and well written with just enough twists to make it unpredictable .

Oct 29, 2015

Those Across the River by Christopher Buehlman was for me, a great Halloween read. It was atmospheric, had some truly terrifying moments and was well written. Set in the Depression years of the early 1930s, the setting had an authentic Southern small town feel. The suspense built slowly, but like a pot slowly bubbling away on a back burner, the reader knew the boiling point was coming.

And when the action comes it is full out and the contrast from the slow, sleepy beginning to the violence and terror is intense. Yes, there is gore and brutality aplenty, but there is also a haunting sadness to this story that is told in such a lyrical manner that Those Across the River will long be remembered.

Mar 26, 2015

Really creepy novel that grabbed me in from the start. It was a good read from the beginning and then about 100 pages in came one of the scariest scenes I've read in awhile. And it just kept building from there. I'm often let down by the horror novels I pick up (many are so ambiguous I have a hard time following), but not this one. Great characters (kind of makes me think of Deliverance) and a wonderfully, spooky setting.

May 01, 2014

This will creep up on you; be prepared to enjoy and run! It is horrific and apparently being made into a movie.

May 27, 2013

A really great tale that sends chills down your back! Creepy!

May 09, 2013

Listened to the audio version - very well read - suspenseful and exciting. A good listen for sure!

ChristchurchLib Nov 29, 2012

I normally wouldn’t go near a zombie novel but this is something different. It’s set after World War I when an academic and his wife settle in a small Southern town where, years before, horrific things happened on a slave plantation. What happens later is linked to the terrible events of the past and what lies beyond the river.

Best reads of 2012: Philip Tew, Selection and Access Librarian, shares his top novels of 2012.

DesPlainesReaders Nov 02, 2011

Creepy and scary!

Oct 20, 2011

Simply one of the best horror/thriller books I've read in a long time. If you like early Stephen King or Dean Koontz, you'll really like this book. It has a very interesting setting and time period (deep south in the US in the years after WWI). There are lots of throw backs to the Civil War in this book which add to the suspense. I won't give away the 'creature' element at all but it is very well done without resorting to cliche. The main couple are very interesting and give you something to root for. Even the ending was well done, unlike a lot of other SF/horror/thrillers out there. Definitely a must read for fans of this genre.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at MCL

To Top