The Goddess Test

The Goddess Test

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Eden, Michigan, high school student Kate Winters strikes a bargain with Henry, Greek god of the underworld, if he'll cure her dying mother of cancer. The bargain she strikes with him is a grim one, but the full enormity of what she has undertaken--"live forever or die trying"--Is not revealed until it's too late to recant.
Publisher: Don Mills, Ontario, Canada : Harlequin Teen, ©2011
ISBN: 9780373210268
Branch Call Number: y CARTER 2011
Characteristics: 293 pages ; 21 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jul 25, 2016

All my life, I have enjoyed reading about Greek Mythology and different spins on these tales. The Goddess Test is an excellent book and series to delve into if for both beginning readers and Greek mythology maniacs. I definitely go back and reread this book over and over, as I have my own copy. I remember getting this book at a fair, where I was captivated by its mysterious cover, and I had previously heard a bit of it from a friend. I decided to purchase it, and to my delight, the romance, mythical background, mystery, and suspense had me glued from the first page. Though the next books are not as good, like any other series, with this book you can choose to just read the first, and it would be perfectly fine. Will you choose to (re)read it? 5/5 @Siri of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

I'm usually really, really not a fan of people changing myths to add characters or do their own personal spin. The Goddess Test is a very large exception to this. I was looking for books to bide me during a plane ride and read the preview; it was so good I bought the book instantly and read it before I could even get it off my computer and onto my Kobo.

Jul 24, 2015

I loved the goddess test because it gave me a different view on Greek mythology. It was a good read and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Greek mythology/romance

Dina_18 Mar 26, 2015

Oh my god best best best series ever. The entire series was fantastic and was so sad when it ended.

Jun 22, 2014

I love this book. I love the idea of how a girl can go from normal to a greek god.

Jun 11, 2014

She is losing everything but here comes a boy to give her a chance to keep it all... is he dangerous or good for her? Will she make a deal with the devil and save a snotty girl she barely knows? Or will she turn and run? This book is amazing!

Feb 18, 2014

I really liked this book. It seemed to me more realistic in the way the main character reacted. I would say the only thing that I didn't like was that it was a little predictable (maybe because I accidentally found the little character guide at the end of the book before I started reading. Warning; that is a spoiler).I wonder what's going to happen in the next book, though. I can't wait.

Aug 07, 2013

I loved this book. As YA goes, it's fun and relatively par-for-the-course. However, where it truly shines is in surprises and mythology. I'm a fan of Greek mythology, and constantly disappointed with modern Greek myth takes. Most especially because they tend to Christianize the stories, de-empowering the goddesses and making Hades a Satanic figure. Which is, of course, asanine.

So I was greatly relieved, and excited, for The Goddess Test. This story was much more authentic to Greek mythology, and even I had a difficult time guessing who was who. I can't wait to pick up the next story, and I'm excited to learn more about the characters and the world. And Henry. :)

I recommend this for fans of YA, Greek mythology, coming-of-age, fantasy, and stories that feature strong female characters.

Jun 30, 2013

This was the best book out of the series which is sad because it is the first. This series had the potential to be awesome but it is almost as though the author got tired of it at the end of the second and just threw the third together. It is a decent series but not one I would love to read again.

Jun 18, 2013

This was a great book involving greek mythology in modern day. It was intriguing, exciting, and well written. It kept me reading until I finished. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys a mix of greek mythology and romance but also some action and mystery.

View All Comments


Add Age Suitability

IreneReads May 03, 2012

IreneReads thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Apr 22, 2012

GBear101 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 11 and 19

Jan 03, 2012

Blue_Swan_40 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

BookFaerie27 Oct 09, 2011

BookFaerie27 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over


Add a Summary

Sep 16, 2012

When Henry--a mysterious boy who claims to be Hades, god of the underworld--makes a deal with Kate to help save her mother's life, Kate must pass seven tests and become Henry's immortal lover, or die trying.

Apr 22, 2012

u should read it, sooooo then u'll know what the summary will be

Jun 17, 2011

It's always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won't live past the fall.
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he's crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she'll become Henry's future bride, and a goddess.


Add a Quote

But it was too late for happy endings. I was already dead.

"Just as long as you don't make me wear a dress for the ceremony."
Henry gave me a look. "Why do you believe you are dressed in white?"


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at MCL

To Top