Mariana

Mariana

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
19
3
Rate this:
A haunting, paranormal romance from a Romantic Times Readers Choice and RITA Award-winning author, a New York Times and USA Today Bestselling authorWhen Julia Beckett moves into the beautiful old farmhouse, she soon discovers she's not alone there."Tread lightly, she is near." She encounters haunting remnants of a beautiful young woman who lived and loved there centuries ago. She finds herself transported into 17th-century England, and into the world of Mariana. Each time Julia travels back, she becomes more enthralled with the past... until she realizes Mariana's life is eclipsing her own. She must lay the past to rest or risk losing the chance for happiness in her own time.A modern gothic historical fiction with elements of time travel, reincarnation, and romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Susanna Kearsley. Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Daphne Du Maurier will want to join Julia and Mariana on their journeys to love, past and present.Other great books by Susanna Kearsley: The Winter Sea – Winner of an RT Reviewers Choice Award, RITA finalist, finalist for the UK's Romantic Novel of the Year Award The Firebird – RITA Winner, Paranormal RomanceThe Rose Garden – Winner of an RT Reviewers Choice Award, RITA finalist Mariana was the winner of the Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize, and Suzanna has had books selected for the Mystery Guild, was a finalist for the UK's Romantic Novel of the Year Award, and won a National Readers' Choice Award and a RITA.What readers are saying about Mariana:"This is one of those books that can be read and reread and not lose its magic." "a beautifully woven and ENCHANTING story.""Her bending of time and place to weave them into unique plots is fascinating""Well written, thought provoking and genuine.""I haven't found a book that has touched me so since reading Katherine and Green Darkness by Anya Seton. Mariana is UTTERLY CAPTIVATING!""reminded me of one of the fine gothics, Mary Stewart or Barbara Michaels – or of Hitchcock in a non-murderous mood.""my go-to for light Gothic dual-time historical fiction / romance.""all the PERFECT delicious components to a great read."What reviewers are saying about Mariana:"Mariana is, quite simply, AMAZING." - The Thoughts of a Girl"a novel full of mystery, intrigue, and timeless romance." – A Navel Affair"Romantic, passionate, and bittersweet, this intelligent, tension-laden story will sweep you away." - Historical Novels ReviewWhat everyone is saying about Susanna Kearsley:"Kearsley blends history, romance and a bit of the supernatural into a glittering, BEWITCHING tale."-Kirkus"A MAGICAL, not to be missed read." -RT Book Reviews Top Pick, 4 1⁄2stars "A CREATIVE TOUR DE FORCE. Sometimes an author catches lightning in a bottle, and Susanna Kearsley has done just that." - New York Journal of Books
Publisher: 2012
ISBN: 9781402258688
9781402258695
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

DBRL_KatSU Aug 09, 2016

I genuinely enjoyed 99.9% of this book. The storyline made me want to read more, and I may have stayed up too late a couple of nights to get one more chapter in. "Mariana" tells the story of Julie, who is inexplicably drawn to an old English home; after she moves into it, she starts having memories that can't possibly be hers. Like I said, this book was pretty great, but the end! Oh, the end. I have so many competing feelings about the ending of this book! Did I like it? Yes . . . I think so? Did it tie up the plot well?- not so much. All in all, this is a good weekend read to get lost in.

M_ALCOTT Aug 24, 2015

Mariana was my first introduction to Susanna Kearsley's books. Since Mariana, I've had the opportunity to read other novels by Kearsley. Some I've enjoyed more than others. I just felt like rereading the novel. The story is beautiful, if sad in parts.

d
DreDre
May 05, 2015

Deeply engrossing, the author effortlessly weaves the two lifetimes from present to past only to come full circle.

soblessed59 Apr 19, 2015

I was enjoying this book so much,that I did not want it to end.I loved the characters from both Mariana's and Julia's time periods,except for Mariana's despicable Puritan uncle.

It was very difficult to put this book down,and I could not leave it for long.
The development of the characters and scenes was amazing,but sadly I found the "twist" ending left me feeling cheated,it made no sense at all!
I won't soon forget how good I felt reading Mariana,but neither will I forget that horrible ending!

Readers will have to decide if they want to chance it.

j
jazpur
Apr 11, 2015

Much enjoyed.I always like stories about old houses and people of the past who lived in them with a modern day onlooker somehow involved.Susanna Kearsley does this style very well and her research is excellent. The same cannot be said for the publisher of this large print edition and their choice of cover design.I doubt very much if they had even bothered to read the story to acquaint themselves with the characters and how they looked. Colour blind? The ghost was blonde with a green dress, certainly not a dark lady in red.Irritating.One of those instances when a plain cover would have allowed the reader's imagination to operate.I feel the choice of cover is discourteous to the author but the reader should definitely not judge the book by its looks but rather for its content.

k
kmereads
Nov 04, 2014

Just finish this book and the Winter Sea. I have found my new favorite author. She just takes you away and even though there are paranormal events or phenomenons, the historical aspect is right up my alley and well presented.
Love the fact you can go on her web site and see actual pictures of her settings of her books. Helps with the imagination!

r
ryner
Jun 23, 2014

While touring the English countryside with her family as a child, Julia glances out the window and states, "That's my house." Years later, she happens to drive past the same house and immediately stops the car to look around. When she discovers it's actually for sale, she arranges the purchase without so much as taking a step indoors. Sometime during the process of unpacking and moving in, Julia has an episode in which she is transported back in time into the mind of Mariana, a young woman who lived in the same house during the 1600s, and experiences Mariana's every thought, feeling and action. When she comes to back in her house again, she realizes that not only has equal time passed in the present while she was "gone," but her actions must also have corresponded to those of the past because she now finds herself in another part of the house with no recollection of how she got there.

I was expecting to like this book far more than I did based on my previous Kearsley experiences; unfortunately, it doesn't quite compare to The Winter Sea or The Rose Garden. The ending was sweet but abrupt, and left me unsatisfied. I would have appreciated if the final scene had been fleshed out a bit more, as to be more convincing.

k
KarenW
May 28, 2014

Julia has seen the house several times over her lifetime and each occasion she feels it calling to her. When she comes across it again on a country drive, she sees it is for sale. After buying it, she feels that she truly belongs and everything is falling into place. Until she has a waking dream about the past and the woman that has lived in the house before. Is she going insane and hallucinating? Or is she traveling into the past? The expertly drawn characters and setting are what drew me in, but what kept me reading was the mystery of the past. Kearsley is one of the best gothic fiction authors!

s
scrubble4
Sep 15, 2013

A very good read until the end. I thought the ending seemed to be the author running out of interest in the book and just ending it.

b
BarbAbday
Aug 31, 2013

This is one of my favourite books and I have read it several times since my husband purchased it for me shortly after it was originally released. I really love the characters and the setting.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

M_ALCOTT Aug 24, 2015

'“These are your beautiful days, Mariana Farr,” he said gently, and then his shoulders blocked the sunlight as he lowered his head to mine and kissed me. He must have known that it was the first time I had been kissed by a man. I had no idea what to do, no idea how to respond to the flood of strange and new sensations. His touch was sweetly, exquisitely, achingly wonderful, and when it ended I felt robbed. He looked down at me and laughed, and took my face in his hands and said something, low and in French, some phrase I couldn’t catch, and his face blurred before my eyes as he bent to kiss me again…"-excerpt, Mariana

M_ALCOTT Aug 24, 2015

“Please. I am a Scotsman, after all. You can’t walk half a mile in Scotland without treading on the coattails of a ghost or two. But I’ve not yet seen one up at the Hall.”-Iain

M_ALCOTT Aug 24, 2015

Julia: “But I thought that the ghost upstairs was still in residence . It’s impossible, isn’t it, for a soul to be in two places at once?”

Alfreda Hutherson: “There is no ghost upstairs. Not anymore. What you felt up there was simply the aura of what had been. She left that in the room, you see, much as a person casts a shadow on a wall.”

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
MCL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top