Blue Plate Special

Blue Plate Special

An Autobiography of My Appetites

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
4
1
Rate this:
"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, [this book] is a narrative in which food--eating it, cooking it, reflecting on it--becomes the vehicle for unpacking a life. Christensen explores her history of hunger--not just for food but for love and confidence and a sense of belonging--with a profound honesty, starting with her unorthodox childhood in 1960s Berkeley as the daughter of a mercurial legal activist who ruled the house with his fists"--Dust jacket flap.
Publisher: New York : Doubleday, [2013]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780385536264
0385536267
9780385536271
0385536275
Branch Call Number: BIOGRAPHY 818.5403 CHRISTENS 2013
Characteristics: 353 pages ; 22 cm
Alternative Title: Autobiography of my appetites

Opinion

From Library Staff

This memoir has it all; beautiful descriptions of food, dysfunctional families, loneliness, using food to fill the void, resilience, and humor.

This lovely book is part memoir, part food sentimentality. A wonderfully satisfying read.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Nov 19, 2013

"Builds on the author's popular food-centric blog to recount her unconventional upbringing and her unusually happy and occasionally sorrowful life of literary and culinary sensuality." Biography and Memoir November 2013 newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=701378

f
five4kc
Aug 26, 2013

Painful to read. Couldn't even force myself to finish it.

Jane60201 Aug 21, 2013

I agree with Della V. It's really just another autobiography of someone with a screwed up life. I've never read her other works and don't think I'll be doing so.

d
DellaV
Aug 21, 2013

Just another author of a blog that didn't really translate to an actual book. Yes, her life story is somewhat interesting in the way a friend at church or whatever is interesting. Not a "take home" friend, though. Recipes are grudgingly added at the end of the chapters like an afterthought, but she plugs other things she's written like she's applying for a job. Not interesting. Other food authors have done this same thing, only much better, not boring their audience with every picayune detail of their lives, but instead spicing or sprinkling vignettes from their lives in amongst the recipes, and the recipes are delivered with the same enthusiasm as the vignettes. Not so this story. Good beach book, because it doesn't really require the reader to be plugged in to it to get what the author is up to. Not a read-again.

Age

Add Age Suitability

d
DellaV
Aug 21, 2013

DellaV thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 40 and 55

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top