Vienna Nocturne

Vienna Nocturne

A Novel

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
In the tradition of Paula McLain's The Paris Wife and Laura Moriarty's The Chaperone comes a sweeping historical love story and a portrait of an age. Vienna Nocturne is a deeply moving debut novel that brings to life two extraordinary figures--a thirty-year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and a young English soprano, Anna Storace, who was his muse--in prose as spirited, timeless, and touching as Mozart's greatest compositions. In late-eighteenth-century London, a young girl takes her first singing lessons with a mysterious castrato in exile. Her life is forever changed. Having learned everything he can teach her, Anna leaves behind all the security and familiarity of home and journeys to Naples and Venice to struggle and triumph in Italy's greatest opera houses. Only sixteen, she finds herself in an intoxicating world of theaters, nobility, and vice, overwhelmed by her newfound freedom and fame. Her first bitter experience of love and heartbreak inevitably follow. Within a few years, Anna is invited to sing in Vienna, the City of Music, by the emperor himself. There, in a teasing game of theft and play, Anna first meets Mozart, a young virtuoso pianist and striving, prodigiously talented composer. They are matched in intellect and talent, and an immediate and undeniable charge occurs between the two, despite both being married to others. As her star rises in Vienna and her personal life deteriorates, Anna experiences an ultimate crisis. During this trying time, her only light is Mozart: his energy, his determination in her, and his art. She, in turn, becomes his hope and inspiration, and his joy, as he writes for her some of his most exquisite and enduring arias--music that will live on as his masterworks. Rich in historical detail and beautifully wrought by Vivien Shotwell, an author who is herself an opera singer, Vienna Nocturne is a dramatic tour de force of a woman's struggle to find love and fame in an eighteenth-century world that controls and limits her at every turn.Advance praise for Vienna Nocturne "You don't have to be an opera buff to fall deep into Vienna Nocturne. Vivien Shotwell catapults you straight into the eighteenth century with abundant, vivid detail. I found Anna Storace's journey from prodigy to prima donna an irresistible tale."--Nancy Horan, author of Loving Frank and Under the Wide and Starry Sky "Passionate and yet precise, dense with feeling yet as clean as a bird in flight: This novel emulates Mozart's music even as it beautifully imagines his love for a memorable singer. What an excellent debut!"--Andrea Barrett, National Book Award--winning author of Archangel and Ship Fever "Vienna Nocturne is as finely intelligent as it is lushly romantic, and beautifully renders how much music can convey, even when it's hardly the only expressive tool lovers have at hand. Very few novels have expressed as persuasively how it feels to be taken up by the kind of passions that, despite everything, can make a soul huge with life and joy."--Jim Shepard, author of National Book Award finalist Like You'd Understand, Anyway "Vivien Shotwell has written a novel that, like her heroine, the singer Anna Storace, is brilliant, warm, irresistible, and infinitely moving. Her descriptions of music, of her characters, of Venice and Vienna are so vivid and so richly compelling that I was amazed to look up from these pages and discover that I was still in Massachusetts."--Margot Livesey, author of The House on Fortune Street and The Flight of Gemma...
Publisher: 2014
ISBN: 9780345536396
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From Library Staff

"A deeply moving debut novel that brings to life two extraordinary figures--a thirty-year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and a young English soprano, Anna Storace, who was his muse--in prose as spirited, timeless, and touching as Mozart's greatest compositions."


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
KarenW
May 28, 2014

For someone who loves music and especially Mozart, I was really looking forward to this novel. Disappointingly, it did not live up to my expectations. As a historical novel it falls flat on the details, which is what I love about historical fiction. And as a romance, it lacks passion. What it gives instead is a bland portrayal of a time period that is full of color and exuberance that should ultimately shine through. The author seems to have that in her own love of music, she just cannot share that with her reader.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
MCL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top