The Ability

The Ability

The Ability Series, Book 1

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Delve into the extraordinary abilities of the twelve-year-old mind in this "fast-paced, superhero-tinged spy novel" (Publishers Weekly), the thrilling start to a middle grade series that expands the possibilities of power.No one has any confidence in twelve-year-old Christopher Lane. His teachers discount him as a liar and a thief, and his mom doesn't have the energy to deal with him. But a mysterious visit from the Ministry of Education indicates that Chris might have some potential after all: He is invited to attend the prestigious Myers Holt Academy. When Christopher begins at his new school, he is astounded at what he can do. It seems that age twelve is a special time for the human brain, which is capable of remarkable feats—as also evidenced by Chris's peers Ernest and Mortimer Genver, who, at the direction of their vengeful and manipulative mother, are testing the boundaries of the human mind. But all this experimentation has consequences, and Chris soon finds himself forced to face them—or his new life will be over before it can begin.
Publisher: 2013
ISBN: 9781442452022
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
blue_badger_1000
Dec 17, 2016

Fabulous book! Christopher (Chris) takes care of his grieving mother and is thought to be a troublemaker. When a lady comes and offers him a place at a school under Britain's M18, he starts to think he may be special in "save the world" kind of way.

o
obscureinfo
Jul 04, 2015

This was an exciting book about children with psi abilities (telepathy, telekinesis, remote viewing, and suggestion). Being trained by the British government to use their powers to stop an unknown threat with psi abilities of his own. The most unique plot element was the idea of a "mind map". That all your thoughts and memories are stored in various rooms that a trained telepath can move through to access information. It made the telepathy understandable.

h
HNPatel
Jul 06, 2014

Enjoyable and captivating book.

Ms_Gaye May 28, 2014

Enjoyable, even though the characters and plot are very familiar - students with magical abilities in a secret school. Kind teachers and outrageously unfair teachers. The main student has an awful home life...
The sequel was just released March 2014. Fans of Harry Potter and Roald Dahl are likely to enjoy these books.

a
aristarr
May 26, 2014

awesome! looking foward to the next book!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top