Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have)

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have)

eBook - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Praised by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Myracle as "hilarious, moving and flat-out fun," and Kirkus as a "pitch-perfect rendering ... of the teen experience," Ten Things I Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have) has captured the hearts of critics and readers alike. Fans of Sarah Dessen, E. Lockhart, and Maureen Johnson will love this hilarious and heartwarming tale of a girl on her own for the first time.If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn't jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although maybe "opportunity" isn't the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: "Lied to Our Parents"). But she and her housemate Vi are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up "Skipping School" (#3), "Buying a Hot Tub" (#4), and, um, "Harboring a Fugitive" (#7) is a mystery to them.To get through the year, April will have to juggle a love triangle, learn to do her own laundry, and accept that her carefully constructed world just might be falling apart . . . one thing-she-shouldn't-have-done at a time.
Publisher: 2011
ISBN: 9780062084613
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

May 16, 2014

Didn't like this book at all. April is quite spoiled, naive and childish. She and her decisions made me cringe.

Mar 30, 2013

Loved it :) hope theirs a number 2

bwortman Mar 28, 2013

This novel left me feeling kind of meh. While April herself is a decent narrator, some of the decisions she makes and the scrapes she gets into made me cringe. However, given the very sheltered, one might even say spoiled, life she's had it's not unbelievable. The novel itself is a decent read, with a great organizational structure built around the 10 things, but at the same time sliding back and forth through present time and her memories. While the book does focus on all of the (probably ill-advised) adventures April gets into during her independent phase, there is also an exploration of family and friendship and what that looks like. Not a bad read but one that's likely to make the parents of any teenage children cringe.

DEON JAMES Dec 17, 2012

Was a fun book to read :)

Aug 25, 2012

I absolutley loved reading this! Great read!

ndell1 Aug 22, 2012

Great book! Alot of unpredictable drama.

Aug 20, 2012

ahh such a good book!

Celandra24 Aug 09, 2012

All the things April and her friends did surprised me, but it was really an amazing book. The author did a great job on this book.

woopsey861 Aug 08, 2012

I don't understand any of these good ratings. This book was really bland and predictable, with no character development whatsoever. You could tell exactly what was going to happen. The beginning of the book drags on and on and the end is very rushed. Don't waste your time reading this unless you're a mindless middleschooler who enjoys reading highschool books.

Jul 19, 2012

best book i have ever read! Hope the author will make more books about aprils adventures

View All Comments


Add Age Suitability

Jun 15, 2015

yoandra thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Jun 12, 2014

MrCat9037 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Jun 29, 2012

Halina thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 1

Mar 31, 2012

lenorajoy thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Aug 09, 2011

mz_charlene thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Jul 15, 2011

KKPGIRL thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at MCL

To Top