This Must Be the Place

This Must Be the Place

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. Best-selling author Maggie O'Farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls "her breakout book." Perfect for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette. Meet Daniel Sullivan, a man with a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and a wife, Claudette, who is a reclusive ex–film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Claudette was once the most glamorous and infamous woman in cinema before she staged her own disappearance and retreated to blissful seclusion in an Irish farmhouse. But the life Daniel and Claudette have so carefully constructed is about to be disrupted by an unexpected discovery about a woman Daniel lost touch with twenty years ago. This revelation will send him off-course, far away from wife, children, and home. Will his love for Claudette be enough to bring him back? "O'Farrell's prose manages to be both intimate and expansive and keenly perceptive in its insights about the complexities of marriage. Beautiful and bittersweet, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE will make O'Farrell's longtime fans swoon while prompting new readers to wonder why they've only just discovered her." —BookPage "I have been a huge fan of Maggie O'Farrell's novels for years. She writes with tremendous clarity and poise and in THIS MUST BE THE PLACE you are invested in what happens to Daniel and Claudette from the moment you meet them. A joy to read." —Jane Green "Inventive, moving, and hilarious. I loved it." —Rachel Joyce, best-selling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9780385349437
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

h
H22888412X
Jul 22, 2017

The author's writing style is engaging and she had me caring for each and every one of the characters. I love this author and have read all her books, this one is my favourite.

s
Suecue
Apr 10, 2017

A lovely book, ranging across continents and eras to reveal the inner lives of a host of flawed but likeable characters. The author clearly has great affection and compassion for her creations, self-inflicted stumbles notwithstanding. Never bleak, often funny, and ultimately uplifting without any schmaltz.

s
Sansha
Jan 27, 2017

Loved this family saga. Will be definitely reading more books by this author.

u
uncommonreader
Jan 04, 2017

This is a story of relationships, written with confidence and so well.

quagga Nov 24, 2016

Dropping out of one's old life to start fresh. Cowardice and courage. Multiple story threads, a span of decades, setting around the world - one extended family. It's a tangled web, beautifully spun by a master storyteller.

robertafsmith Sep 26, 2016

Roberta's pick: You need to be an accomplished author to jump from character to character and back and forth in time and still write a wonderful book. But in Maggie O'Farrell's hands, all this is possible. I loved this book for the dialogue and the characters. Even though I have an antipathy towards flawlessly beautiful, intelligent , fertile characters who are wonderful moms. Not her best novel, but still very very good. Staff Pickle.

AL_WENDY Sep 13, 2016

I laughed, I cried, I came to care deeply about these characters. The multiple viewpoints are very well done.

h
hildesanders
Aug 09, 2016

I don't mind going back and forth between characters, but i don't like how the narration goes from 1st person to 3rd person. It's very confusing. There are too many details that are irrelevant to the story. I feel like the writer has lost track of what she was getting to.

p
picton
Jun 28, 2016

Great book, the bouncing between characters and time kept me in suspense. Recommended.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top