This Raging Light

This Raging Light

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
For fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a gorgeous debut novel about family, friends, and first love. Lucille Bennett is pushed into adulthood after her mom decides to "take a break"...from parenting, from responsibility, from Lucille and her little sister, Wren. Left to cover for her absentee parents, Lucille thinks, "Wren and Lucille. Lucille and Wren. I will do whatever I have to. No one will pull us apart." Now is not the time for level-headed Lucille to fall in love. But love—messy, inconvenient love—is what she's about to experience when she falls for Digby Jones, her best friend's brother. With blazing longing that builds to a fever pitch, Estelle Laure's soulful debut will keep readers hooked and hoping until the very last page. "A funny, poetic, big-hearted reminder that life can—and will—take us all by surprise."—Jennifer E. Smith, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight "Lucille may not take down a beast or assassinate any super bads, but she's what heroines look like and love like in real life." —Justine Magazine
Publisher: 2015
ISBN: 9780544636484
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc


From the critics

Community Activity


Add Age Suitability

Oct 11, 2017

sofia_24 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Jul 31, 2017

madeline_george22 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over


Add a Comment

Dec 14, 2016

It's more than just YA romance and teenage angst. Lucille is literally trying to keep her little sister fed and clothed and deal with adult responsibilities ALL WHILE HIDING THE FACT FROM EVERY ADULT THAT SHE'S DOING THIS BY HERSELF. You'll find similar themes of "adulting is hard" and "does-he-or-does-he-not-love-me" that resonate in much of YA lit, but wow. Life can really, really suck without it literally being the apocalypse. Lucille is awesome and does what needs to be done.

"This Raging Light" packed a punch. It was hopeful and devastating, and yo-yoed me back and forth. I haven't been so emotional reading a book since "The Fault in Our Stars".


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at MCL

To Top