eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the YearA Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the YearA Rainbow Book List selectionA witty, wise, and heart-wrenching reimagining of Beauty and the Beast that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan. Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn't look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg—and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy—until he meets Jamie. She's funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She's also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie's humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn't know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn't listening. Something that shouldn't change a thing. She is who she's always been—an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way? Praise for Beast: "Writing smartly in Dylan's voice, Spangler artfully represents both main characters: the boy who feels like a freak and the witty, imperfect, wise trans girl he loves. Very lightly borrowing on the classic fairy tale, she allows them to fail and succeed without resorting to paper villains or violent plot points to manipulate compassion. A believable and beautiful human story." —Kirkus Reviews, Starred review "Spangler's captivating portrayals of Dylan and Jamie offer piercing insight into the long, painful battle to shatter stereotypes in order to win dignity, love, and acceptance." —Publishers Weekly, Starred review
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9781101937174
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Dec 07, 2017

It lost some points with me for being a little cheesy and using a couple tired tropes. But aside from that it was a great novel. They got the "Beauty and the Beast" message through perfectly.

Oct 01, 2017

Tears, I love this story with all my heart. I could read it a million times and not get bored.

AL_KELSEY Jul 13, 2017

This is an interesting love story about accepting who you are, and accepting the person you're falling for. Teen life is tough, and the two main characters have definitely had heaping platefuls of these tough times, but I love how they are able to help one another through it, and find love in the process!

Apr 16, 2017

This is the most original retelling of the Beauty and the Beast that I’ve seen. 15-year-old Dylan is huge and hairy. When he “accidently” falls off the roof of his house, he ends up in a support group of self-harmers. He’s never had a girlfriend and when he meets Jamie in the group, he is smitten. She’s tall. He doesn’t have to lean way over to hear her, but there’s so much more to their friendship. And then he discovers Jamie isn’t really who he thought she was. It’s a great story about learning to become yourself even when you don’t meet social norms.

Nov 17, 2016

While some aspects of this book were frustrating, I found I could not put it down and stayed up until 2:00 AM to finish it. The characters are real, flawed, endearing and heartbreaking. Sometimes it's hard to know who to trust/believe which is a problem for the characters as well as the reader, but makes it all the more compelling, in my opinion. I loved the development of the individuals and their relationships.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at MCL

To Top