Beer Money

Beer Money

A Memoir of Privilege and Loss

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruins.Frances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million.But behind the beautiful façade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit's economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad and likewise the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store.Featuring beautiful evocative photos throughout, Stroh's memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal—at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9780062393180
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Sep 04, 2017

Thank goodness I got this from the library. The entire family seems like wasted lives. Unhappy marriages, everyone smokes too much, drinks too much and half have done more than a fair share of drugs. All living off the dividends from the family business. The beginning was interesting, learning about the family and business, then come the teen age years of teenagers having access to too much money or friends with too much money, and the book goes down hill from there.

Jul 10, 2017

This book is disappointing. Despite the premise, the author shows surprisingly limited insight about the effects of inherited wealth on her family. Big questions are left largely unexplored--for example, the reasons why her brother became a drug dealer in college. There are also large stretches of the book where it's not clear to what extent she was able to rely on the family fortune, for example as a college student and a young adult. The writing itself is lackluster as well.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at MCL

To Top