Brain Jack

Brain Jack

eBook - 2010
Average Rating:
Rate this:
10
1
Another terrifying sci-fi page-turner from the author of The Tomorrow Code!Las Vegas is gone--destroyed in a terrorist attack. Black Hawk helicopters patrol the skies over New York City. And immersive online gaming is the most dangerous street drug around. In this dystopic near-future, technology has leapt forward once again, and neuro-headsets have replaced computer keyboards. Just slip on a headset, and it's the Internet at the speed of thought.For teen hacker Sam Wilson, a headset is a must. But as he becomes familiar with the new technology, he has a terrifying realization. If anything on his computer is vulnerable to a hack, what happens when his mind is linked to the system? Could consciousness itself be hijacked? Before he realizes what's happened, Sam's incursion against the world's largest telecommunications company leads him to the heart of the nation's cyberdefense network and brings him face to face with a terrifying and unforeseen threat.Brian Falkner, author of The Tomorrow Code, has created an action-packed and thought-provoking science fiction adventure in which a brilliant young computer hacker fights to prevent the human race from being deleted.Fans of Cory Doctorow's Little Brother and M. T. Anderson's Feed will love this high-octane techno thriller.From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: 2010
ISBN: 9780375893230
Branch Call Number: OverDrive ebook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
Petersfootball21
Nov 25, 2014

This book is absolutely amazing! I read book after book, and this has been one of my favorites by far.

b
Bearskito
Aug 17, 2014

Brain Jack had some similar computer hacking elements to Cory Doctorow's Little Brother, except where Little Brother was trying to get across a message, Brain Jack was trying to be a good story. I liked it, up until the ending which I found a little unsatisfying. Overall it was a good cyber-thriller, though.

k
karatekangaroo
Jan 02, 2014

Very good fast pace suspenful and technology based book. A must read

flash2121 Jul 10, 2013

I read a lot over and i like it it cool...

e
ebkita
Jun 01, 2013

This book is totally computer geeky. I'm no computer geek, but I LOVED IT!!! Stick with it, you won't be disappointed!

a
acritics
Nov 21, 2012

From the opening words of the prologue, I was hooked. The premise of this book is scarily believable. In an America where Las Vegas has been destroyed by a nuclear explosion, the Department of Homeland Security’s Cyber Defense Division recruits top teen hackers to protect the nation’s computer systems. But a new danger arises as more people begin to use neuro-headsets to connect their minds directly to their computers. Can that technology be used to manipulate people’s memories and control their actions? It takes a little while for Falkner to set up the scenario. But once the action begins, the pace is breath-taking! The writing is so vivid, I found myself tensing up, pulse racing, as I turned the pages. I am a bit uncertain how I feel about the ending. It seemed a bit too quick and clean. But the rest of the book is so good, I’ll gladly forgive that.

s
StarGladiator
Aug 06, 2012

Excellent read --- although listed in the young adult category, really on par with adult hacker fiction --- much superior to Michael Olson's Special Flesh -- a book written by an investment banker for investment bankers, not tech savvy types. Still, the leader of the pack in hacker fiction is Daniel Suarez.

baseballfan24 Jan 21, 2012

A very good book. Definately worth reading.

c
colincmac
Dec 18, 2011

I believe it was the fictitious company of Telecomerica that he managed to hack into...not AT&T

i
Inkwire
Mar 18, 2011

Amazing insight into a possible future

Age

Add Age Suitability

white_dogfish_10 Mar 04, 2014

white_dogfish_10 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top