My Heart Is An Idiot

My Heart Is An Idiot

Essays

Downloadable Audiobook - 2012
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He's continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don't work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it's humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits.But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it's his prose that's the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.
Publisher: New York : Macmillan Audio, 2012
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9781427225740
Branch Call Number: OverDrive Audiobook
Characteristics: 1 sound file : digital
Additional Contributors: Rothbart, Davy
OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChinookArchSystem Mar 08, 2017

I'm just starting to listen to this audiobook, but I am disturbed by the first essay. I don't like to hear how the author abused his deaf mom. Some people might find this funny. I don't.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top