The French Girl

The French Girl

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
"An exhilarating psychological suspense debut that will propel readers into the darkest edges of friendship, for fans of Fiona Barton, Clare Mackintosh, and Ruth Ware. They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending an idyllic week together in a French farmhouse. It was supposed to be the perfect summer getaway ... until they met Severine, the girl next door. For Kate Channing, Severine was an unwelcome presence, her inscrutable beauty undermining the close-knit group's loyalties amid the already simmering tensions. And after a huge altercation on the last night of the holiday, Kate knew nothing would ever be the same. There are some things you can't forgive. And there are some people you can't forget, like Severine, who was never seen again ... Now, a decade later, the case is reopened when Severine's body is found in the well behind the farmhouse. Questioned along with her friends, Kate stands to lose everything she's worked so hard to achieve as suspicion mounts around her. Desperate to resolve her own shifting memories and fearful she will be forever bound to the woman whose presence still haunts her, Kate will find herself buried under layers of deception with no one to set her free.."-- Provided by publisher.
"Memories from her trip to France still haunt Kate Channing almost a decade after the fateful vacation. The image of her French neighbor, Severine, is as clear as if she had seen her yesterday--despite the fact that Severine went missing just as the vacation ended. And when the case is reopened, bringing with it resurfaced secrets, rekindled affections, and dangerous enemies, Kate wonders if she will ever be able to rid herself of the ghost of the haunting and silent young woman. As the investigation speeds forward and alliances can no longer be trusted, she begins to understand that the stakes of this game are her own survival"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Berkley, 2018
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780399586934
0399586938
Branch Call Number: FICTION ELLIOT 2018
Characteristics: viii, 294 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

First novelist Elliott has done a phenomenal job of combining a whodunit with a Big Chill vibe. (Library Journal)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
pharra19
Aug 27, 2018

I really enjoyed this book. Elliott's writing is refreshing, and her characters seem like people you would want to meet. The story was engrossing, with a believable ending.
I look forward to reading her next book!

p
pitkerro
Mar 15, 2018

Good first book. Read in one sitting.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top