Select language, opens an overlay
Brave

Brave

Book - 2017 | First JY edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
16
11
"In his daydreams, Jensen is the biggest hero that ever was, saving the world and his friends on a daily basis. But his middle school reality is VERY different -- math is hard, getting along with friends is hard... Even finding a partner for the class project is a big problem when you always get picked last. And the pressure's on even more once the school newspaper's dynamic duo, Jenny and Akilah, draw Jensen into the whirlwind of school news, social experiment projects, and behind-the-scenes club drama. Jensen's always played the middle school game one level at a time, but suddenly, someone's cranked up the difficulty setting. Will those daring daydreams of his finally work in his favor, or will he have to find real solutions to his real life problems?"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY : JY, an imprint of Yen Press, LLC, 2017
Edition: First JY edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9780316363174
0316363170
9780316363181
0316363189
Call Number: jgn CHMAKOVA 2017
Characteristics: 238 pages : chiefly color illustrations ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: McCommon, Melissa - Colorist
Lee, JuYoun

Opinion

From Library Staff

Jenson dreams about saving the world from zombies and sun spots, but he may just need to save
himself first as he tries to get through every day in middle school.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
coraltwilight
Mar 04, 2021

Amazing book! I kind of relate to Jensen. A little less on the bullying but was still bullied.

Hillsboro_RobP Jul 16, 2020

The awkward and shy protagonist Jensen might not be the most intelligent person at Berrybrook middle school, but with the help of some friends he begins to navigate the complex social situations that make up his daily life. Full of lively and surprising characters, warm moments and an engaging plot, Chmakova's second entry is well worth it for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Shannon Hale, and others.

Big credit to the author for choosing a protagonist that's a bit below average intelligence but without a clear disability. I'm not sure if I've seen someone like Jensen take the focus of a book like this before, and I enjoyed reading it.

e
ena505
Jun 15, 2019

this book was great! it had twists and turns, the characters were all very different and the main character is so lovable🥰. I recommend this book to people of all ages.

m
mjk3517
May 20, 2019

I loved this book and I loved the main character, Jensen. I recommend it to anyone who ever went to middle school, or knows someone who is apprehensive about going to middle school. Jensen just wants to save the world, make some friends and draw pictures. He thinks if he can just stay under the radar the mean kids will leave him alone. And his friends who make fun of him are still his friends, right? When the school comes together the over dress code and the bullying is exposed, Jensen realizes middle school is tough on everyone. Great message and the graphics are easy to understand.

no_1_at_all Feb 01, 2019

This is an amazing graphic novel, the second in the "Awkward" series! This one is all about ever-cautious Jensen, the secondary charrie in "Awkward" that was forever warning others about the imminent danger of sunspots. Jensen feels left out of Art Club activities with the big ~Art Fair~ coming up. Then he discovers Jenny, Akilah and Felipe of the Newspaper Crew. Things go a bit downhill as Jensen begins to fail math. Problem is, math tutoring is after school- when Art Club is in session. To make matters worse, Jensen is being bullied by two boys, Yanic and Foster... and some of his friends... but refuses to acknowledge that fact until the Newspaper Crew (and some help from Jorge), convince him otherwise. This book is an emotional roller coaster ride everyone should experience, even the ones who get airsick :)
10/10 sunspots

d
darladoodles
Dec 10, 2018

Another fantastic book in the Awkward series. This installment features Jensen Graham, the student with the sunspost obssession. He is struggling to make his way in middle school and gets bullied --mostly about his size. What he does not realize is how much he is being bullied until he is handed a survey by friends on the newspaper staff. After answering so many questions about bullying to the affirmative, he discovers this one: "What culture would YOU want to build? What would be the norm there? Which actions would help build this culture?" That is an epiphany for Jensen and also a catalyst for change at the school. Middle school students will see themselves on these pages and be encouraged to bring about change in their classrooms.

g
GreenNinjaGirl
Oct 22, 2018

Are you that kid who feels like the social outcast? This book provides such encouragement.

a
anwarf
Oct 19, 2018

I love this book it is so awesome
😍

rtalps Jul 17, 2018

Brave is a book I would highly recommend to all middle grade readers. It is a heartening story of Jensen, who is dealing with bullies and feeling invisible at middle school. Readers of Chmakova's "Awkward" will remember Jensen as the sunspots side-character, but here his story is fully realized and incredibly relatable.

JessicaGma Jul 10, 2018

Another brilliant tale from the author of Awkward that follows Jensen as he tries to survive middle school. Jensen is being bullied in a few different ways, so it's wonderful to see both versions of the classic style that everyone can pick out, but also more subtle stuff from people who are supposed to be "friends". The art is perfect.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
o
olive_coyote_62
Jul 17, 2020

olive_coyote_62 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

mauve_butterfly_264 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

v
violet_cat_11543
Apr 14, 2019

violet_cat_11543 thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

no_1_at_all Feb 01, 2019

no_1_at_all thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

b
black_panther_948
Dec 11, 2018

black_panther_948 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

b
blue_dog_9929
Jun 07, 2018

blue_dog_9929 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 99

w
White_Fish_6
May 30, 2018

White_Fish_6 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 99

OPL_KrisC Apr 05, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

PimaLib_SierraG Feb 10, 2018

PimaLib_SierraG thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

Scythers Feb 07, 2018

Scythers thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

View All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top